It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Looking for a documentary, image, sound file, chart etc? Then try one of the following:
Databases specialising in videos:
Academic Video OnlineA cross-search interface that provides access to the Library subscribed video collections from Alexander Street.
Ethnographic Video Online (Alexander Street)An online resource for the study of human culture, behaviour and society around the world. The collections contain streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork. The Library subscribes to Volume I, II and III.
eTVProvides real-time resources through recorded TV programmes, live streams and on demand videos. First-time users must register: select University of Otago, use University staff or student email address only, password will be sent to email. Thereafter login requires registered email address/password.
Provides real-time resources through recorded TV programmes, live streams and on demand videos. Includes TV recordings of programmes from over 30 domestic and international television channels, the entire Archives New Zealand historical film collection along with other educational content in many subject areas, live TV channels in English and other languages. Media hosting is available where videos and related materials may be uploaded to the eTV Library for online access by staff, students, and the wider educational community.
KanopyA streaming service that provides access to video content sourced from leading suppliers. The Library subscribes to a selection of titles from this collection.
ARTstor Digital LibraryThe current version of ARTstor supports the following browsers: IE 7.0+ ; Firefox 3.0+; Safari 3.0+. A nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
The following system configurations are recommended for the optimal use of the ARTstor Digital Library: A high-speed internet connection; Java version 1.3 or later installed on your browser (Mac users accessing ARTstor through Innovative Proxy must have Java version 1.5 or later); Flash Player version 6.0 or later installed; Pop-up blockers are either disabled or configured to allow pop-up windows from www.artstor.org; Cookies are enabled in your browser; Monitor resolution is set at 1280 x 1024 pixels or higher; Screen colours are set to True Colour (32 bit) or better.
Hocken SnapshopA small sample of the photographs of New Zealand people and places held at Hocken Collections. You can print or download any of these images for personal and research use.
Databases with a variety of content types e.g. videos, photographs, sound files:
Anthropology (Alexander Street)Anthropology brings together a wide range of ethnographic documentaries, indigenous media, field notes, study guides and raw footage, covering human behaviour the world over. Essential for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography, the database will contain more than 1,800 films at completion.
DigitalNZAims to make New Zealand digital content easy to find, share and use. This includes content from government departments, publicly funded organisations, the private sector, and community groups.