Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dunedin Street Art: Water street, by SEAN DUFFELL, DAGER, HARLEY JONES, SEAN DUFFELL, MICA STILL, BONGO, BE FREE, TRUST ME, RAME
Featured Image Resources
ARTstor Digital Library
The Artstor Digital Library provides straightforward access to curated images from reliable sources that have been rights-cleared for use in education and research.
Navigate the breadth and depth of images on JSTOR using the 16 classification terms. Images characterized by more than one term will appear in multiple classification groups.
Oxford Art Online
The gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove® Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
Hocken Snapshop (Photographs)
The Hocken Collections / Uare Taoka o Hākena is home to a significant collection of photographs with a particular focus on Aotearoa New Zealand’s people and places.
Flickr - almost certainly the best online photo management and sharing application in the world
We give you access to millions of cultural heritage items from institutions across Europe. Discover artworks, books, music, and videos on art, newspapers, archaeology, fashion, science, sport, and much more.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America empowers people to learn, grow, and contribute to a diverse and better-functioning society by maximizing access to our shared history, culture, and knowledge.
Hocken Heritage Collections (Archives)
Hocken's collections celebrate the histories, cultures and natural environments of Aotearoa New Zealand, the Pacific and Antarctica with special emphasis on southern New Zealand.
The collections include archives, books, drawings, journals, maps, music and film, newspapers, paintings, photographs and posters.
The internet’s source for visuals. Powered by creators everywhere. Over 3 million free high-resolution images are brought to you by the world’s most generous community of photographers.
Noun Project is building a global visual language that unites us — a language that allows quick and easy communication no matter who you are or where you are.
Pexels provides high quality and completely free stock photos licensed under the Pexels license. All photos are nicely tagged, searchable and also easy to discover through our discover pages.
Britannia Image Quest
We are researchers, editors, technologists, designers, and quizmasters united in our commitment to tell stories, to teach, and to never lose sight of the fact that learning is one epic, lifelong journey.
eHive: Objects from museums, galleries, libraries and archives from around the world.
eHive is a web-based collection cataloguing system. Our system is used worldwide by hundreds of museums, societies and private collectors to catalogue objects, store images, manage acquisition information and publish their collections online.
The Metropolitan Museum
The Met has always aspired to be more than a treasury of rare and beautiful objects. Every day, art comes alive in the Museum's galleries and through its exhibitions and events, revealing new ideas and unexpected connections across time and across cultures.
Getty images are the world’s foremost visual experts—capturing, creating and preserving content to elevate visual communications everywhere. By identifying cultural shifts, spearheading trends and powering the creative economy, we fuel visual storytelling worldwide.
Victoria & Albert Museum (V & A)
From ancient Chinese ceramics to Alexander McQueen evening dresses, take an incredible journey through 5000 years of human creativity with our online collections.
VADS : Visual Arts Data Service
VADS provides a national collection of over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections across the UK, which are freely available for non-commercial use in education. .
National Geographic Magazine
National Geographic is a popular American monthly magazine published by the National Geographic Society. Known for its photojournalism, it is one of the most widely read magazines of all time. Experience the world through the eyes of National Geographic photographers.
Wellcome Collection is a free museum and library that aims to challenge how we all think and feel about health.
Google Arts & Culture
Google Arts & Culture is a non-profit initiative. We work with cultural institutions and artists around the world. Together, our mission is to preserve and bring the world’s art and culture online so it’s accessible to anyone, anywhere.
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European fine arts from the 3rd to 19th centuries. (Renaissance) The scope of the collection shows its Medieval roots as well as its evolution to Baroque and Rococo via Mannerism.
Keep in mind that Artcyclopedia is a form of Internet search engine. The main mode of searching within the site, and the main way that web surfers find their way to us, is a search on an artist's name.
Wikimedia Commons a collection of 80,113,201 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. If you are browsing Commons for the first time, you may want to start with Featured pictures, Quality images, Valued images or Featured media.
Alejandro felt the urge to create a platform where designers could find free graphic resources. Pablo and Joaquín supported his idea and that’s how Freepik Company was created.
Pixabay is a vibrant community of creatives, sharing copyright free images, videos and music. All contents are released under the Pixabay License, which makes them safe to use without asking for permission or giving credit to the artist - even for commercial purposes.
Royalty-free HD stock photos and images. Truly unique, Usually whimsy. Always free. Peace of mind license without copyright restrictions.
Our mission is to organise the world’s information and make it universally accessible and useful.
Every Stock Photo
Find legally-safe photos and download them in seconds. Discover over 7 million premium and budget royalty-free images.
Hocken Collections (Pictorial)
The Pictorial Collections are open Monday - Friday by appointment. Staff can help with finding images and information on artists in the collections. A free reference service is offered for queries.
NZ Electronic Text Collection
The New Zealand Electronic Text Collection comprises significant New Zealand and Pacific Island texts and materials held by Victoria University of Wellington Library. This encompasses both digitised heritage material and born-digital resources.
Kura Heritage Collections Online
Kura Heritage Collections Online provides easy and free access to images, manuscripts, oral histories and indexes held in Auckland Libraries’ world-renowned heritage collections.
Heritage Images (Auckland Library)
Search Heritage Images to find over 300,000 images from the photograph collections of Auckland Libraries Special Collections.
Partnering curiosity with information, DigitalNZ began with a purpose: to bring the wealth of digital New Zealand content into one, accessible place.
Te Papa Images
Browse 800,000 artworks, taonga, photographs, collection objects, and botanical and zoological specimens from Te Papa’s collections.
National Library Images
Database of over 20,000 heritage images from the Alexander Turnbull Library, at the National Library of New Zealand.
Te Ara Encyclopedia
‘Te ara’ in Māori means ‘the pathway’. Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand offers many pathways to understanding New Zealand.
University of Otago Databases
University of Otago Databases
Special Collections contains books and manuscripts which span the earliest examples of European printing (1473) through to modern first editions and publications from the 20th and 21st centuries.