Cadastre: principles and practice by 
GIS: a computing perspective by 
GNSS survey & engineering handbook for surveyors and survey engineers by 
Remote Sensing of the Cryosphere by 
Remote Sensing of Urban and Suburban Areas by 
Surveying for Engineers by 
Surveying Theory and Practice by Fundamentals of survey measurement and analysis by C. C. J. M. Tiberius (Author), H. van der Marel (Author), René Reudink (Author), Freek van Leijen (Author), Open Textbook Library (Distributor)
This book provides an introduction, at academic level, into the field of surveying and mapping. The book has been compiled based on hand-outs and readers written for the third-year course Surveying and Mapping, in the bachelor program Civil Engineering at Delft University of Technology. This book covers a wide range of measurement techniques, from land surveying, GPS/GNSS and remote sensing to the associated data processing, the underlying coordinate reference systems, as well as the analysis and visualization of the acquired geospatial information
eBook, 2021
English
TU Delft Open, [Place of publication not identified], 2021
These resources are reliable sources of definitions, and contain information to help you get started with an unfamiliar topic.
A Dictionary of Construction, Surveying, and Civil Engineering by
An A to Z of construction, surveying, and civil engineering terms covering all core aspects, this book provides a one-stop reference for construction students and professionals.
A Dictionary of Electronics and Electrical Engineering by
This popular dictionary, formerly published as the Penguin Dictionary of Electronics, has been extensively revised and updated, providing clear, concise, and jargon-free A-Z entries on key terms, theories, and practices in the areas of electronics and electrical science.
A Dictionary of Geography by
Covering all aspects of physical and human geography, this dictionary is an essential guide for students at all levels. It has been fully revised and updated, and includes more than 400 new entries, recommended web links for many entries, and over 15 new illustrations.
A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences by
This leading dictionary covers all areas of geoscience, including planetary science, oceanography, palaeontology, mineralogy, and volcanology. In this edition, 675 new entries have been added and include expanded coverage of planetary geology and Earth-observing satellites.
A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering by
This dictionary covers all aspects of mechanical engineering, including thermodynamics, heat transfer, combustion, stress analysis, design, manufacturing, materials mechanics, dynamics, vibrations, and control. It provides authoritative guidance for students, practising engineers, and others needing definitions of mechanical engineering terms.
A Dictionary of Weights, Measures, and Units by
This comprehensive dictionary provides clear definitions of all the units, prefixes, and styling of the Système International (SI), as well as industry-specific and traditional terms currently in use.
A Supplementary Dictionary of Renewable Energy and Sustainability by
A Supplementary Dictionary of Renewable Energy and Sustainability consists of over 300 A to Z entries relating to these subjects, expanding on Oxford's coverage in works such as A Dictionary of Environment & Conservation. It includes key terms associated with fossil- and nuclear-fuelled energy systems, renewable energy sources such as solar thermal, bioenergy, tidal power and wind power, and energy costings.
The University Library uses a classification system called Library of Congress (LC) to organise books.
When you look up a book on the library catalogue ‘Library Search | Ketu’, take note of the given ‘call number’ to find where the book is on the library shelves.
To find a book, match the call number to the signs posted at the end of the library bookshelves, and to the number sticker on the spine, or on the front cover, of the book.
Surveying books could be held at any number of libraries, including Central, Science, Law, Storage, and at the Hocken Collections. When you search for Surveying books using Library Search | Ketu, you should also take note of the location of the book.
Have a look at the other tabs in this box for more information on searching the library catalogue, and check-out this short video on How to find a book on the library shelves to learn more about locating books in the library.
Use Library Search | Ketu to access all material that the library has purchased or subscribes to, including:
Scroll to the bottom of the search results to link through to make an interloan request if we don’t hold something you want.
Take advantage of the features including; filtering to material type, and use the ‘advanced search’ option to narrow your results.
Check out this short introductory video: Using Library Search | Ketu
Refer to this: Online guide about using Library Search | Ketu for more detailed information.
Because Library Search | Ketu is a vast database, use the filters that are listed down the left hand side of the search screen to help narrow your results. You can ‘tweak’ your results in the following ways:
If you are finding that you are getting too many results, or results that are not relevant, click into the record of a result that you know is useful, and take a closer look at the information about this resource.
Look at the ‘Details’ section of the record.
Take particular note of the ‘Subjects’ section.
This section uses ‘Subject Headings’ which are an example of ‘controlled vocabulary’. Controlled vocabulary is standardised language that is used to organise information, and is a way to both retrieve library records, and to link library records that are on same topic.
Either click on the 'Subject Headings' to find related records, or use this language in your subsequent searches for better results.
The ‘Description’ section of a library record can also give you ideas for keywords to use in your searches.
Sometimes the description is a list of chapter titles, sometimes it is more detailed and informative; either way the language used might give you some ideas for how to conduct a more effective search.
For information about borrowing books, take a look at this library webpage.
It will help answer any question you might have about:
And, click here for information about paying library fines.
Library staff are more than happy to assist you with any queries you might have about any of this information.
Check out our library help page for more information on getting help, library FAQs, and a link to chat with a staff member.
Please know that there are no silly or stupid questions, and that we are here to support you to use the library.
Most of the time, the library doesn't provide access to an Ebook because the publisher of the book has not made a multi-user licence available.
Any individual can purchase (or rent) a copy of an Ebook that they can use themselves. When a library purchases (or rents) an Ebook, we have to purchase it on a licence that allows more than one person to use the Ebook. Sometimes publishers do not make these licences available. If that is the case, the best option for the library is to purchase a print copy so that we can all access the book.
Sometimes, only a few people are able to access an Ebook at any one time. In this case, you might just have to try accessing it again later.
Other times, each individual can only have access to a limited amount of the book at any one time (for example, you can only download a limited amount of chapters before you reach the copyright limit), and/or for only a short period of time (for example a day or a week). In these cases, you also might have to wait and try to access it again in a day or two.
And sometimes, we might have an Ebook listed on the catalogue in anticipation of someone wanting to access it, but we haven’t actually purchased it yet. In this situation, you just have to request access, and that will normally be approved quite rapidly.
In all cases, if you are having trouble accessing an Ebook, contact either the Eresources team (you can ‘report an issue’ via Library Search | Ketu or email them) or contact your Subject Librarian.
You can request an interloan of any book we don’t hold. For instructions on how to do this, check out the interloans webpage. This is a free service, unless we need to go beyond NZ or Australia to find the book. We will check with you of that is the case. You can also request a scan of a book chapter that we don’t hold, for free, using the same request method.
For information on requesting books from Storage check out this Library FAQ entry. You might find the Library FAQ helpful for other questions you have about using the library.
You can request the book and it will be recalled off the current borrower. Click here for information about how to do this.
The current borrower will immediately receive an email telling them that they have to return the book in one week. You will receive an email notification when the book has been returned from the current borrower, and waiting for you to pick it up on the hold shelf.
You can request a scan of a book chapter, or an article if the library only holds the journal in print.
Click here to watch a video about how to make a scan request.
