Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image by Couleur from Pixabay
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Designed for academic institutions, this database provides coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals. It supports research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and more.
Provides full-text access to back issues (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years) of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. The Library's access includes all Arts & Sciences Collections, the Life Sciences Collection, Business IV, and the Ireland Collection.
MLA International Bibliography
This citation database covers literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. The database also includes access to the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Provides digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. A source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals with over 120 publishers currently participating.
A leading electronic database providing indexing/abstracting and full-text access to scholarly and general interest publications. It combines information from a number of online databases with subjects covering: theatre, music, business, law, education, science, technology, engineering, arts, and religion.
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
Clarivate Web of Science
A multi disciplinary database. used in the Sciences and Humanities. Use it to search across a large range of academic e-journals, e-books and conference proceedings.
Database : Oxford Reference
Discover the best of Oxford University Press's reference titles on a dynamic digital platform.
British Theatre, Music and Literature
A wide range of primary sources related to the Arts in Victorian England from playbills, scripts, operas, and complete music scores
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
The resource allows users to study this exciting period using manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia. The interactive chronology, extensive visual resources, and video footage provide valuable contextual background to the materials included in this collection.
La Revue du Spectacle
A French revue is a theatrical genre that combines music, dance, and sketches that satirizes contemporary people, current affairs, and gold literature.
Defining Gender : AM Explorer
Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
Plays and Theatre Reviews
Theatre record reprints in full all the national drama critics' reviews of the latest productions in and out of London, with full casts and credits as well as production photographs.
New Zealand professional theatre & dance: reviews, news, and your views.
Contributing constructively to the continuing conversation.
Playmarket New Zealand
Playmarket provides subscription access to over 1000 New Zealand play scripts. It also licenses these plays nationally and internationally, and provides information about playwrights and their plays published works and awards.
Australian Plays Transform
Showcases the 'best Australian playwriting', and includes access to combined catalogues of Australia's leading theatrical publishers. Browseable or searchable by play; playwright; genre; cast size, age or gender.
Stageplays in a US & UK-based online database for locating and purchasing scripts of plays & musicals from all over the world. You can search for plays by genre, size, and by gender of the cast.
Radio NZ Plays
Full-length audio plays - drama and comedy
Welcome to Screenworks – the peer-reviewed online publication of practice research in film and screen media. Screenworks is committed to real and immediate open access (OA) for the publication of screen media practice research. All of our submissions are free to access immediately from the date of publication.
Internet Broadway Database
IBDB provides a comprehensive database of shows produced on Broadway, including all "title page" information about each production. IBDB also offers historical information about theatres and various statistics and fun facts related to Broadway.
Information found in IBDB is derived primarily from theatre programs (in most cases from a production's opening night). Supplemental information was taken from newspaper and magazine reports, theatrical text books, interviews with theatre professionals,
Driven by the belief that social and behavioral science has the power to improve society, we focus on publishing impactful research and enabling robust research methodology.
Taylor & Francis Online
.Open access makes published academic research freely and permanently available so anyone, anywhere can read and build upon this research.
One of the largest and most authoritative collections of online journals, books, and research resources, covering life, health, social, and physical ...
Theatre / Theater Search Terms
Database Search Tips PDF
Two page PDF detailing keyword and boolean search tips, Google Scholar boolean search tips, and reverse citation searching.
Electronic Access Help
If you have any queries about our electronic resources (databases, e-journals or e-books), please contact the library using the form on this web page.
The Interloan service enables library users to search for items, create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.
This video shows how to request a PDF scan of a book section or print journal from any Otago library.
Digital Theatre Plus
Provides access to high quality films of leading British theatre productions as well as behind-the-scenes documentaries and interviews.
Provides real-time resources through recorded TV programmes, live streams and on demand videos. First-time users must register.
A streaming service that provides access to video content sourced from leading suppliers.
Alexander Street are curated, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
University of Otago Databases
University of Otago Databases
Otago University Research Archive (OUR Archive)
Repository for selected research produced at the University of Otago. Includes Book, Book chapters, Journal Articles, Theses, Working Papers and more.
Otago University Research Heritage (OUR Heritage)
A window into the cultural, heritage and historical material within the University of Otago's Hocken Collections and Special Collections.
Special Collections contains books and manuscripts which span the earliest examples of European printing (1473) through to modern first editions and publications from the 20th and 21st centuries.