Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image by Marco Massimo from Pixabay
Drama Online: National Theatre Collection (Bloomsbury)
This award-winning digital library has been created as a response to the need for a high-quality online research tool for drama and literature students, professors, and teachers. It is the only resource to combine exclusively available playtext content and scholarly publications with filmed live performances, film adaptations, and audio plays.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
EEBO includes Include works by major authors such as Shakespeare, Malory, Spenser, Bacon, Erasmus and many more. The collection includes historical documents, Bibles, royal statutes and other public documents.
Literature Online (Lion)
Literature Online (LION) is a foundational, focused, and targeted resource for literary programs with full text journals and reference material to help contextualize primary works and authors. LION includes literary figures that have held our attention for a century.
Literature Research Centre
Gale Literature Resource Center is Gale’s most current, comprehensive, and reliable online literature database. It offers the broadest and most representative range of authors and their works, including a large collection of full-text critical and literary analysis.
Language & Literature (ProQuest)
A rich digital archive of leading international journals in the humanities and social sciences, spanning more than two centuries of content. This resource can be used to survey comprehensively the history of scholarship in a particular field. Rarity of source material means that there will be some gaps in the collection.
The JSTOR Understanding Series
The literary texts in the JSTOR Understanding series are open access on JSTOR, but an institutional or individual access account may be required to view the full-text of the linked journal articles and book chapters.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library provides full text access to key reference works in the Blackwell's Reference series and Wiley Textbooks. There are 10 titles specifically related to Shakespeare.
SHAKSPER strives to emphasize the scholarly by providing the opportunity for the formal exchange of ideas through queries and responses regarding literary, critical, textual, theoretical, and performative topics and issues. Shakesper is an international, e-mail distribution list for discussion among Shakespearean scholars, researchers, instructors, students,
Rare Book Room
The "Rare Book Room" site has been constructed as an educational site intended to allow the visitor to examine and read some of the great books of the world.
The Bodleian First Folio
Welcome to the digital facsimile of the Bodleian First Folio of Shakespeare's plays, Arch. G c.7. This has been made possible by the generous support of the donors to the Sprint for Shakespeare public campaign (August to December 2012).
Victorian Illustrated Shakespeare Archive
The Victorian Illustrated Shakespeare Archive contains over 3000 illustrations taken from the most significant illustrated editions of Shakespeare’s plays in the Victorian period.
William Shakespeare - British Library
All discovering literature: Shakespeare and Renaissance people. Resources that are held at the British library.
Shakespeare Birthplace Trust
The Shakespeare Birthplace Trust is the independent charity that cares for the world’s greatest Shakespeare heritage sites in Stratford-upon-Avon, and promotes the enjoyment and understanding of his works, life and times all over the world.
ShaLT Shakespearean London Theatres
It is not widely known that the sites of many of the London theatres of Shakespeare's time have been positively identified and can be enjoyed as tourist destinations. This project aims to increase public awareness of these sites and to promote their enjoyment.
Shakespeare Documented is the largest and most authoritative collection of primary-source materials documenting the life of William Shakespeare (1564-1616), bringing together all known manuscript and print references to Shakespeare, his works, and additional references to his family, in his lifetime and shortly thereafter.
This database has anything and everything Shakespeare here! From his great plays to his simple sonnets | Housing 188 articles since 2006.
Iter - Gateway to the Middle Ages
A not-for-profit partnership dedicated to the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development and distribution of online resources.
Internet Shakespeare Editions
Our aim is to inspire a love of Shakespeare's works by delivering open-access, peer-reviewed Shakespeare resources with the highest standards of scholarship, design, and usability. Since 1996, the ISE website has been an innovator in providing academic resources for the online digital medium.
Lost Plays Database
The Lost Plays Database is a wiki-style forum for scholars to share information about lost plays in England, 1570-1642. Its purpose is to add lost plays to scholarly discussions of early modern theatrical activity.
William Shakespeare in Quarto
See 107 copies of the 21 plays by Shakespeare printed in quarto before the 1642 theatre closures.
The BBC collection of Shakespeare Plays
BBC : Shakespeare Lives Archive
Shakespeare Lives marks the 400th anniversary of the death of William Shakespeare – widely acknowledged as the greatest of all playwrights and the most extensively read and studied author in the English language.
Google Arts & Culture
William Shakespeare was an English playwright, poet, and actor, widely regarded as the greatest writer in the English language and the world's greatest dramatist. He is often called England's national poet and the "Bard of Avon".
The Spelling and Pronunciation of Shakespeare's Name
The spelling "Shakespeare," according to most Oxfordians, was used to refer to the author of the plays and poems, while the spelling "Shakspere" (or "Shaksper," in the version sometimes promoted by more militant Oxfordians such as Charlton Ogburn) was used to refer to the Stratford man.
Shakespeare on the German stage by
Call Number: Central : PR3108 .W55 2004 (Book)
Publication Date: 2004
This is an illustrated history of the performance and reception of Shakespeare's plays on the German stage from the English Comedians in the late sixteenth century to the First World War.
Call Number: (eBook)
Publication Date: 2020
First published to critical acclaim in 1989, this book is now recognised as one of the most original and influential critical studies of Shakespeare to have appeared in recent times.
Still Shakespeare and the photography of performance by
Call Number: (eBook)
Publication Date: 2020
Photography, it is suggested, can at last prove Shakespeare wrong: the actors will not be allowed to melt into thin air, but instead will be retained in the form of their photographic images, caught in the attitudes of stage performance.
Shakespeare & money by
Call Number: (eBook)
Publication Date: 2020
Though better known for his literary merits, Shakespeare made money, wrote about money and enabled money-making by countless others in his name.
PowerPoints and Study Notes
Folger Shakespeare Library
The Folger Shakespeare Library has the world's largest collection of materials relating to Shakespeare and his works, from the 16th century to the present day.
Welcome to Open Source Shakespeare (OSS). Since it debuted in 2003, OSS has become one of the most popular Shakespeare sites on the Internet.
MIT Global Shakespeares
The Global Shakespeare Video & Performance Archive is a collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world.
Shakespeare Globe Centre New Zealand
Shakespeare Globe Centre New Zealand (SGCNZ) is a life skills enhancing organisation through Shakespeare. It interacts and collaborates with Shakespeare’s Globe in London.
The Complete Works of Shakespeare
Welcome to the Web's first edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare.
Digital Theatre Plus
Provides access to high quality films of leading British theatre productions as well as behind-the-scenes documentaries and interviews.
Provides real-time resources through recorded TV programmes, live streams and on demand videos. First-time users must register.
A streaming service that provides access to video content sourced from leading suppliers.
Alexander Street are curated, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
Shakespearean Social Media