Hocken's collections celebrate the histories, cultures and natural environments of Aotearoa New Zealand, the Pacific and Antarctica with special emphasis on southern New Zealand.
The collections include archives, books, drawings, journals, maps, music and film, newspapers, paintings, photographs and posters.
We are researchers, editors, technologists, designers, and quizmasters united in our commitment to tell stories, to teach, and to never lose sight of the fact that learning is one epic, lifelong journey.
We give you access to millions of cultural heritage items from institutions across Europe. Discover artworks, books, music, and videos on art, newspapers, archaeology, fashion, science, sport, and much more.
INZART provides a resource for locating information on art in New Zealand. Topics include New Zealand artists, artworks, exhibitions, art news and education.
Selected journal and newspaper articles have been indexed by the Fine Arts Library at the University of Auckland since 1965 creating a unique tool for students, scholars, and researchers of art in New Zealand.
Pixabay is a vibrant community of creatives, sharing copyright free images, videos and music. All contents are released under the Pixabay License, which makes them safe to use without asking for permission or giving credit to the artist - even for commercial purposes.
Wikimedia Commons a collection of 80,113,201 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. If you are browsing Commons for the first time, you may want to start with Featured pictures, Quality images, Valued images or Featured media.
Keep in mind that Artcyclopedia is a form of Internet search engine. The main mode of searching within the site, and the main way that web surfers find their way to us, is a search on an artist's name.
Google Arts & Culture is a non-profit initiative. We work with cultural institutions and artists around the world. Together, our mission is to preserve and bring the world’s art and culture online so it’s accessible to anyone, anywhere.
The Met has always aspired to be more than a treasury of rare and beautiful objects. Every day, art comes alive in the Museum's galleries and through its exhibitions and events, revealing new ideas and unexpected connections across time and across cultures.
Getty images are the world’s foremost visual experts—capturing, creating and preserving content to elevate visual communications everywhere. By identifying cultural shifts, spearheading trends and powering the creative economy, we fuel visual storytelling worldwide.
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European fine arts from the 3rd to 19th centuries. (Renaissance) The scope of the collection shows its Medieval roots as well as its evolution to Baroque and Rococo via Mannerism.
The New Zealand Electronic Text Collection comprises significant New Zealand and Pacific Island texts and materials held by Victoria University of Wellington Library. This encompasses both digitised heritage material and born-digital resources.