Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A list of resources, freely available on the web, that give you the ability to find and, in most instances, access scholarly research. Includes full text articles in open access journals, working papers, theses and open access books.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
Directory of Open Access Repositories: OpenDOAR This link opens in a new window
Search through the world's repositories of freely available research information, from repositories that have been approved by OpenDOAR.
Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) This link opens in a new window
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. Through the OKR, The World Bank collects, disseminates, and permanently preserves its intellectual output in digital form
OAIster This link opens in a new window
OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access digital resources. Represents multidisciplinary resources from more than 1,100 contributors worldwide.
Open folklore This link opens in a new window
Open Folklore, a partnership of the American Folklore Society and the Indiana University Bloomington Libraries, is a new scholarly communications effort to make a greater number and variety of useful resources available to folklorists.
OpenGrey This link opens in a new window
Open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe.
OpenThesis This link opens in a new window
OpenThesis is a free repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents.
Social Science open access repository This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of full-text social-science documents which you can access freely. Some documents in languages other than English. Browse by discipline or search by keyword.
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
DOAB provides open access to over 854 Academic peer-reviewed books from 25 publishers.
OAPEN This link opens in a new window
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of Open Access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance and digital preservation
Paperity is a multi-disciplinary aggregator of Open Access journals and papers, "gold" and "hybrid"
These resources can help you find and track emerging research. Some require you to become a registered member (usually no cost).
Follow specific authors and find full text publications:
Academia.edu is a platform for academics to share research papers.
Mendeley is a desktop and web program for managing and sharing research papers, discovering research data and collaborating online.
ResearchGate is a network dedicated to science and research. Connect, collaborate and discover scientific publications, jobs and conferences.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
SSRN is composed of a number of specialised research networks in each of the social sciences. It includes an Abstract Database containing abstracts for over 273,200 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 224,300 full-text documents.
Get involved in discussions:
H-Net (Humanities and Social Sciences Online) This link opens in a new window
An international interdisciplinary organization of scholars and teachers. Edited lists and web sites publish peer reviewed essays, multimedia materials, and discussion for colleagues and the interested public.
How do I improve my web searching skills?
Want to brush up on your web searching skills?
Start with the Self Help guide:
This guide will help you use the many services and resources available at the University of Otago Libraries. In this guide you will find:
Interactive online learning modules
Links to other student support services on campus