LibGuides: Religion: Home

If you live in one of the main centres around New Zealand you may use the local University Library to borrow books.
You will need proof of your enrolment at the University of Otago, and address details to join.

The New Zealand Libraries which have agreed to share their collections are:

This agreement also applies to many Australian University Libraries, so if you are living in Australia, check this link to see what is available in your area. More information here.

Spotlight on:

PODCAST ALERT: RELS102too

Lecturers Ben & Will have created a weekly podcast supplementing the lectures and tutorials on RELS102:Introduction to Hinduism and Buddhism. Here Will and Ben will reflect on the topics of the week, what they left out or got wrong, and how they can do better next week.

EXCITING NEW COLLECTION

Since 2022, the library has been privileged to host the Kitsiri Malalgoda collection, an archive of nearly 700 books in English and Sinhala oriented around Buddhism and Sri Lankan history. The books represent the generosity of the late Professor Kitsiri Malalgoda from the University of Auckland who was a leading figure in the study of Buddhism in Sri Lanka. This has now been catalogued, and has been shelved according to LC classification, rather than as one physical group. A full list of items is, however, available from this link, and books from the collection will appear in relevant search results.

Looking for Quality Information / Journal articles /Books/Ebooks?

Looking for Quality Information / Journal articles /Books/Ebooks?

Below are the four best places to start searching for academic literature on your topic. Explore the tabs along the top for even more options.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Library Search | Ketu This link opens in a new window Library Search | Ketu provides fast, simple, one-step searching across the University of Otago Library's resources. It is designed to make it quick and easy to begin researching a topic. It is not a replacement for the detailed and precise search tools available from individual subject specific databases.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window This database indexes journals on religious history, biblical studies, epistemology, political philosophy, and the history of philosophy. Some full text but mostly reference and abstract only.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Contains primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organisations.

HOW TO FIND GOOD INFORMATION FOR YOUR ASSIGNMENT USING THE PROQUEST RELIGION AND ATLA DATABASES

Your Subject Librarian

Amanda Hutchinson

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Robertson Library

Union Street East

Ph: 479 7404

Subjects: Language Centre: Te Puna o te Ki, Media, Film and Communication, Religious Studies, Theology

Featured Databases

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy not only delivers a wealth of academic video content in the subject areas of Theology and Religion, it also includes World Cinema, Hollywood Classics, incredible documentaries, and blockbusters - plus much more. Who needs Netflix !!

Another useful database for Religion is the Alexander Street Religion and Thought

New Theology & Religion Books

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.