Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where are the Indigenous Studies Books?
Useful books for Indigenous Studies can be found through out the collection. Locate these books, and books with related and/or specific topics, using Library Search Ketu.
Library Search | Ketu This link opens in a new window
Library Search | Ketu provides fast, simple, one-step searching across the University of Otago Library's resources.
Reference Books for Indigenous Studies
Reference books are great places to start when learning about a new topic or creating a search strategy. The titles below are recommended, but not inclusive.
Books on Indigenous Studies Methodology
Useful E-Book Databases
Anthropology (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
. Anthropology Online brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behaviour the world over. It provides the complete works of the key practitioners and theorists and is cross-searchable with Ethnographic Video Online, a collection of classic and contemporary films.
ProQuest EBook Central This link opens in a new window
. Offers content across all subject areas from major academic publishers worldwide. Access to non-owned content can be requested online. ebooks can be read online or downloaded for offline access for up to 7 days using Adobe Digital Editions.
ScienceDirect Reference Works This link opens in a new window
. Reference works across a number of disciplines via ScienceDirect.
SpringerLink ebooks - Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
. Springer’s eBook collection in Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, with over 250 books published annually.
UPCC Book Collections (Project MUSE) This link opens in a new window
. Project MUSE ebooks are from university presses and scholarly publishers. 2012 collections available are Archaeology and Anthropology; Film, Theater and Performing Arts; Global Cultural Studies; Higher Education; History; Literature; Philosophy and Religion; Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction; Political Science and Policy Studies.