Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Engines and Databases
These search engines are optimized for finding and returning scholarly literature from the World Wide Web. They are not a replacment for databases listed in the "find articles" tab, but can be great places to start your research or to find additional literature.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly research on the Internet.
GreenFILE (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment.
Search millions of free academic articles, chapters and theses in arts, humanities, business, law, nature, science and medicine.
Find Open Access Journals and Repositories
A list of resources freely available on the web that give you the ability to find and, in most instances, access full text scholarly publications.
Image Credit: PLoS
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
SSRN is composed of a number of specialised research networks in each of the social sciences. It includes an Abstract Database containing abstracts for over 273,200 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 224,300 full-text documents.
Directories and Weblinks to Internet Resources
A list of online resources that provide links to even more resources.
Who is tweeting about #indigenous
Search the Web
Search the Web
Helpful tips for more effective web searching including:
*Google Scholar: Tips & Tricks
Find Emerging Research on the Web
These resources can help you find and track emerging research. Some require you to become a registered member (no cost).
NZResearch This link opens in a new window
. Research documents produced at universities, polytechnics, and other research institutions throughout New Zealand; formerly KRIS (Kiwi Research Information Service)
Find Data on the Web
A list of resources freely available on the web that give you the ability to find and access statistics/data sets.
data.govt.nz (NZ Government Datasets Online) This link opens in a new window
data.govt.nz is a directory of publicly-available, non-personal New Zealand government held datasets. This site does not host data, instead it links to datasets held on other government websites.
Professional Organisations, Societies, & Think Tanks
Great places to look for publications and conference proceedings, plus links to other useful websites.
WINHEC Publications This link opens in a new window
The World Indigenous Nations Higher Education Consortium (WINHEC) was launched during the World Indigenous Peoples Conference on Education (WIPCE) at Delta Lodge, Kananakis Calgary in Alberta, Canada in August 2002. The founding members are Australia, Hawai’i, Alaska, the American Indian Higher Education Consortium of the United States, Canada, the Wänanga of Aotearoa (New Zealand), and Saamiland (North Norway). The stated aims of WINHEC include the provision of an international forum for indigenous peoples to pursue common goals through higher education.
Indigenous Studies in the News