Skip to Main Content

It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pacific Islands Studies: Resources

Books and eBooks

Many books relevant to Pacific Islands Studies can be found in the DU, GN and GT areas of the Library.

More books with related or specific topics can be found throughout the Library's collections including Te Aka.

Use Library Search | Ketu to search all our resources, including books and e-books, journals, magazines and DVDs
Use our guide to help you find a book on the shelf
Use our Interloan service to request a book not held by Otago Libraries

Oceanic Languages Dictionaries and Resources

Oceanic Mythology

Online Sources

Ministry for Pacific Peoples
Pacific Encounters
Tidal Pools: Pacific Islands texts
more...less...
Tidal Pools is a joint project between the NZETC and Va'aomanū Pasifika at Victoria University of Wellington to make available texts of interest to those researching Pacific islands history, language, culture and politics.
Pacific Islands Report
Links to various news sources, governments and organisations for the Pacific Islands.
more...less...
Created by the Pacific Islands Development Program/East-West Center with support from the Center for Pacific Islands Studies/University of Hawai‘i.
Open Directory Project - Oceania
Open Source volunteer managed Web Directory that lists and categorizes Websites.
more...less...
The largest, most comprehensive human-edited directory of the Web.

digitalpasifik.org
Digitised items of cultural heritage from across the Pacific.
more...less...
Implemented by Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa | National Library Library of New Zealand in collaboration with the National Library of Australia.
Oceania Digital Library
Searchable access to a range of cultural & heritage resources.
more...less...
A collaborative programme between the University of Hawai'i Library, the University of Auckland Library and The University of California San Diego Libraries.
Pacific Manuscripts Bureau
Online Pacific history research materials.
more...less...
The Pacific Manuscripts Bureau was formed in 1968 to copy archives, manuscripts and rare printed material relating to the Pacific Islands. The aim of the Bureau is to help with long-term preservation and accessibility of the documentary heritage of the Pacific Islands.
University of Hawaii at Manoa Library
Digital and digitized collections.

Charting the Land on the Ocean: Pacific Exploration, 1520-1876 This exhibition features books and maps found in the Hocken Collections, the Science Library and Special Collections.

Last Updated: Feb 2, 2023 9:19 AM
URL: https://otago.libguides.com/pacific_studies
Print Page

Subjects: Indigenous Studies, Māori Studies, Pacific Studies