LibGuides: Pacific Islands Studies: Videos & Images

Online Streaming Video Collections

These are just some of the many video streaming collections available online.

See digitised classic New Zealand newsreels and films from 1941 to 1989 via Archives NZ's YouTube channel.

Take a trip through the past with the BBC archives.

Includes detailed information on over 6000 films showing images of life in the British colonies, with over 150 films available for viewing online.

"New Zealand's audiovisual archive" holds more than 700,000 items with over 8000 available online.

The online showcase of New Zealand television, film and music video.

TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading.

Watch documentary films, movies, series and episodes online for free.

Includes many University channels, documentaries and playlists e.g. Ngai Tahu official YouTube channel.

eTV This link opens in a new window
Free access to recorded TV programmes, live streams and on demand videos via University of Otago subscription. Programmes include Tagata Pasifika, Daughters of the Pacific and Pacific Pulse. First-time users must register: select University of Otago and use your University email address.
Provides real-time resources through recorded TV programmes, live streams and on demand videos. Includes TV recordings of programmes from over 30 domestic and international television channels, the entire Archives New Zealand historical film collection along with other educational content in many subject areas, live TV channels in English and other languages. Media hosting is available where videos and related materials may be uploaded to the eTV Library for online access by staff, students, and the wider educational community.

Thecoconet.tv
Online Pacific storytelling, conversations and sharing.
Ethnographic Video Online
Streaming videos related to the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world.
more...less...
The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
. A cross-search interface that provides access to the Library subscribed video collections from Alexander Street Press.
ARTstor Digital Library This link opens in a new window
. A nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
The following system configurations are recommended for the optimal use of the ARTstor Digital Library: A high-speed internet connection; Java version 1.3 or later installed on your browser (Mac users accessing ARTstor through Innovative Proxy must have Java version 1.5 or later); Flash Player version 6.0 or later installed; Pop-up blockers are either disabled or configured to allow pop-up windows from www.artstor.org; Cookies are enabled in your browser; Monitor resolution is set at 1280 x 1024 pixels or higher; Screen colours are set to True Colour (32 bit) or better.
DigitalNZ This link opens in a new window
. Aims to make New Zealand digital content easy to find, share and use. This includes content from government departments, publicly funded organisations, the private sector, and community groups.

World Digital Library Contains significant primary materials from cultures around the world, including manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, architectural drawings, and other significant cultural materials.