LibGuides: Visual Culture: Videos

Visual Culture Videos Available in the Library

These are just some of the many documentaries, films and TV series that are available to view in the library (Hover over the title to see a description of each).

To find more, go to the Library catalogue and try a Basic Search, limiting to Videos/DVDs. Or, try a Reserve Search for your course code, and limit to Library: AV.

Library Catalogue

Visual Culture Videos in Library Databases

These are just two of the many video databases available through the library.

To find more video databases, see this list:

Multimedia Databases.

You'll need to register for eTV the first time you use it. See this video for details on how to register:

How to register for eTV.

eTV
Access recorded TV programmes, live streams and on demand videos.
VAST: Academic Video Online
Search across academic video collections in 21 disciplines through this VAST package.

medianet

medianet
A digital reference and resource satellite from the New Zealand Film Archives, located at the Dunedin Public Art Gallery.

Information about Films

Search these databases to find out more information about a particular film, television show, writer, actor or direct, including reviews, film criticism, and more!

AFI (American Film Institute) Catalog (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A national filmography documenting the history of American cinema. Cataloguing currently covers the years 1893-1974 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1975 onwards.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Key consumer and trade magazines covering the whole of the 20th century. The digitised seachable backfiles of US and UK magazines cover film, television, popular music, radio and theatre from the first issue to 2000. Titles will include Variety (1905-2000), Billboard (1894-2000), Boxoffice (1920-2000), Broadcasting (1931-2000), The Stage (1880-2000), Melody Maker (1926-2000).
IMDb: The Internet Movie Database This link opens in a new window
Covers over 250,000 movies and 900,000 personalities including 500,000 actors and actresses, 50,000 directors, 70,000 writers and others involved in the industry. Search by title; my movies; people; characters; quotes; biographies or plots.