Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Some key databases for Biomedical Sciences
These are some key Heath Sciences, Anatomy, Physiology, Human Nutrition, Microbiology & Immunology, Genetics, Pharmacology & Toxicology, and Pharmacy databases are listed below.
Have you got a smart phone or tablet? Did you know that many of our key databases are also available via mobile? When you look up the database in the Anatomy database list, Human Nutrition database list, Health Sciences database list, Microbiology database list, or Pharmacy database list and it has this icon: : then it's available for iPhone /iPod or iPad or Android.
Covers biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Date range 1960+
Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Premier literature database for medicine, nursing, dentistry, and the preclinical sciences.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary, high-impact journals in science, social science, and the arts & humanities. Date range 1900 onwards.
Multidisciplinary sciences coverage. Incorporates the ScienceDirect e-journals collection. Date range 1823 onwards
Embase This link opens in a new window
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals.
ClinicalKey is the successor product to MDConsult. It includes over 500 e-journals.
Full-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works. Covers a broad range of subjects in the Social Sciences and Humanities, Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Engineering.
ScienceDirect - Biomedical Sciences
Reference Module in Biomedical Sciences
Nutrition and Food Sciences (CABI)
A specialist database covering human nutrition, food science and food technology. Key subject areas include public health, clinical nutrition, nutrition physiology, food safety, food security, consumer behaviour, food science and technology and food product groups such as functional foods.
Article not online? Interloan it!
If you can't access an article online, search the journal title in Library Search | Ketu to see if the issue you need is in print.
If the article is not available at Otago, use the Library's free Interloan Service and have it delivered from another library to your desktop.
Online PubMed tutorials
Find out how to get the most out of PubMed by using the tutorials below:
A quick and easy guide to getting the most out of your PubMed searches
Help with Google Scholar
Remember to always access Google Scholar through the Library webpage - that way you are recognised as a student from the University of Otago and you are given access to all our subscriptions.
Follow the [PDF] link or Otago Article Link on the right-hand side to get the full text of the article.