Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Check out these featured resources:
The Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection
This collection of specially prepared animated audio visual presentations with synchronized narration is regularly updated and growing with over 1,500 talks. (If off campus, you may require the following login details: Username: otago Password: member)
Anatomy & Physiology Online (Primal Pictures)
Comprising of 20 modules, each of which includes clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection slides that can be labelled, clinical case studies, the impact of aging on each body system, pronunciation guide and much more.
This resource will be of great interest to anatomists. It includes a section on Anatomy & Physiology which comprises of 20 modules, each of which includes clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection slides that can be labelled, clinical case studies, the impact of ageing on each body system, pronunciation guide and much more.
National Human Genome Research Institute
Lots of information relating to the Human Genome including news, databases, a talking glossary of genetic terms, webinars and fact sheets.
Nutrition and Food Sciences (CABI)
A specialist database covering human nutrition, food science and food technology. Key subject areas include public health, clinical nutrition, nutrition physiology, food safety, food security, consumer behaviour, food science and technology and food product groups such as functional foods.
Films & Images
Looking for a documentary, image, sound file, chart etc? Then try one of the following:
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
A cross-search interface that provides access to the Library subscribed video collections from Alexander Street.
Provides programmes recorded off-air from domestic and international television channels and Internet channels. First-time users must register for an ongoing username/password: select University of Otago; use University staff or student email address (otago.ac.nz) only; username/password will be sent to your email. Note: Use Chrome for all eTV functionality.
Biology and Life Science Video Share
Medical history films
Biomedical Education Skills and Training Network - sharing coursework, technology and images.