Business Administration - MBA, DBA: Finding Data & Statistics

New Zealand Statistics

StatsNZ 

http://www.stats.govt.nz/

Includes links to:

• NZ.Stat - view, download, and customize datasets
• Data for Business - find industry data, import/export data, use the market mapper to profile an industry or consumer group
• Infoshare - a range of time-series data

You can also 'browse for statistics' by category.

• NZStats - Data for Business

  - Try the Market Mapper tool to find out where your customers are. By selecting variables such as age, income, and family type, you can find the areas where most of your customers live.
  - Try QuickStats about a place for more information on customers by area.
  - Find industry data
  - Find import/export data

• Industry Benchmarks (IRD)

  The tool:
  - provides data on the financial performance of small and medium enterprises (SMEs) grouped by the Australia and NZ Industrial Standard Classification (ANZSIC) categories
  - includes performance benchmarks represented by key financial ratios such as: gross profit ratio; stock turnover ratio; salaries and wages to turnover ratio; return on total assets; return on equity; current ratio; quick ratio; and liability structure
  is updated annually and data is currently available for the 2010, 2011 and 2012 financial years
  - makes data available for re-use in Excel and HTML formats.

• New Zealand official year-book

  Central Library holds paper copies of 1892-2010.

• New Zealand digitised yearbooks

  1893 - 2012

• Statistics for Universities 

  NZ universities' research staff and student access to specialised statistical products and data packages

Government Agencies

Many government agencies provide data and statistics on their area of interest. 

For example:

• MBIE - Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment
• Tourism New Zealand

Also:

Figure.nz

"Figure.nz exists to enable everyone to make sense of data and see Aotearoa clearly." New Zealand statistics illustrated with infographics.

Sources for Global Statistics

International Financial Statistics Online (via IMF) 

Source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.

OECD iLibrary 

The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.

Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database (Euromonitor) 

Euromonitor International's Global Market Information Database (GMID) is an online business information system providing business intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. It offers integrated access to statistics, reports, insightful comment and business information sources. Coverage is global, more than 200 countries are researched. Users need to register using an "otago.ac.nz email" address.

World Bank International Debt Statistics (IDS) 

International Debt Statistics (IDS) - formerly known as Global Development Finance (GDF) - provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS).

World Bank World Development Indicators (WDI) 

The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognised international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.