Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Keeping up-to-date with research: How to set up search alerts in....

Find out how to create email to new research in various research databases

ebscohost logo

EBSCO provides access to research from major publishers through a range of database collections (e.g. Academic Search Complete, ATLA, SportDiscus, Education Research Complete, Business Source Complete and many more). All EBSCOhost databases have the same search interface, so once you know how to set up a research alert in one, you know how to do it for all of them. 

 

Library Search | Ketu is a 'discovery layer' and that means it lets you search across many of the research / article databases the Library subscribes to. Setting up a search alert in Library Search | Ketu is a great way to get notified of new, relevant (and full text available) research being added to these database collections. Alerts in Library Search | Ketu can't be modified in terms of frequency.

Science Direct Logo

Science Direct is a database provided by Elsevier and its collection of academic e-journals and e-books primarily support the Sciences (health, social, physical and life sciences).  

Google Scholar can alert you to relevant research within the Library collection (as indicated by Otago Article Link) and beyond. Use the Library's interloan service to request research not held in the University of Otago Library collection (online or hardcopy).

proquest logo

ProQuest provides access to research from major publishers through a range of database collections (e.g. ProQuest Central, ProQuest Business, ProQuest Aquatic Science Collection and many more). ProQuest databases have the same search interface, so once you know how to set up a research alert in one, you know how to do it for all of them. 

web of science logo

Web of Science (formerly called Web of Knowledge) is an index rather than a database. Use it to search across a large range of academic e-journals, e-books and conference proceedings. Web of Science primarily indexes publications in the sciences but there is some arts and humanities coverage too. Search alerts and Journal alerts can be set up within then the Web of Science Core Collection.

Journaltocs logo

JournalTOCs is a freely available resource that lets you search the table of contents (TOCs) of over 31,858 scholarly journals. Even better, you can follow your favourite journals and receive an email alerting you to a journal issue and providing the table of contents. You will receive this alert as soon as the journal issue is published online. Although you're unable to access the full article with this resource, you can view the article abstract.

scopus logo

Scopus is an Elsevier database providing access to the abstracts and citations of research published in over 36000 academic titles. The research areas Scopus covers includes life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences and health sciences and to a lesser extent, the arts and humanities.  

  • Alerts in Scopus [video 2:16 mins] created by  ÚstÅ™ední knihovna VŠB-TUO (CC BY-NC-ND 4.0)
  • Link to Scopus