Skip to Main Content

The University of Otago Library has re-designed its Subject Guides system. Please let us know what you think by filling out this survey.

Carpe Diem: Kia Tu Kia Maia: Workshop Resources: Images et al

Google image search

Google Web Search

Google is a wonderfully rich source of images. However, most of the images found on Google are copyright-restricted. To find images that can be used without breaching copyright, search Google (above) for your chosen topic, then click the Images link, then Tools, Usage Rights and select an appropriate filter:

Google image search licenses

Please remember to attribute (reference) your image source.

Find Images Online

Gas Meter Dial A view of the dial on the gas works meter. The Gasmeter Company West and Gregson Oldham

Gas Meter Dial (Ashley Dace) / CC BY-SA 2.0

Find digital images including photographs, artworks, and objects using the tools below.

Find Images with Library Databases

DATA BASE at POstmasters, March 2009 by Michael Mandiberg

DATA BASE at Postmasters, March 2009.
CC-BY-SA Michael Mandiberg.

Find digital images including photographs & artworks, using the image & article databases below.

Find NZ Images Online

Find New Zealand digital images of photographs and artworks using the tools below.

Images (usually direct from photographers)

Pixabay.com is an international website for sharing high quality public domain photos, illustrations, vector graphics, and film footage. As of November 2017, Pixabay offers over 1,188,454 free photos, illustrations, and vectors and videos.

https://pixabay.com/

Unsplash is a website dedicated to sharing copyright-free photography under the Unsplash license. The website claims over 70,000 contributing photographers and generates more than 5 billion photo impressions per month on their growing library of over 509,000 photos.

https://unsplash.com/

Flickr is an image hosting service and video hosting service.

https://www.flickr.com/search/advanced

Digital NZ

DigitalNZ is a service run by the National Library of New Zealand and funded by the New Zealand Government. It is aimed at making New Zealand digital content easier to find, share and use. To date there are over 25 million digital items available to view from over 120 partner organisations

https://digitalnz.org/explore

Te Papa Collections Online

Collections Online has information on almost 800,000 artworks, objects, and specimens from Te Papa’s collections – from dinosaur teeth (link is external) to contemporary art (link is external)buzzy bee (link is external) to Xena (link is external).

Collection areas cover Taonga Māori (link is external)Pacific Cultures (link is external)New Zealand History (link is external)Photography (link is external)Art (link is external)Botany (link is external), and Zoology (link is external). These topics are complemented by over 190,000 images, with over 60,000 available for high-resolution download.

There’s also a wealth of information on related people, places, topics, species, and research from Te Papa.

https://collections.tepapa.govt.nz/

ClinicalKey image search

ClinicalKey (from Elsevier) contains over 1200 medical textbooks and 600 journals in electronic format, including all the images contained in these sources. These images can be downloaded to PowerPoint for use in teaching presentations.

To make presentations, you will need to create a personal account with Elsevier: click on the Register button on the ClinicalKey landing page and complete the form (You will need to fill in this form on-campus, from a University network-enabled computer, only once). You can then log in from any computer (including off-campus).

There is a guide which explains how to make use of this powerful feature, available below.

anatomy

e-Anatomy: The Interactive Atlas of Human Anatomy
Atlas of human anatomy: cross-sectional anatomy, gross anatomy, radiological anatomy. Provides medical imaging and pictures of head and neck, thorax abdomen and pelvis, limbs, and spine.