Language Centre Te Puna o te Ki: Reference
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Subject specific dictionaries are useful for providing concise explanations for theories, concepts and terms. Most of these resources will be held in the reference collection - each University library has its own reference collection dedicated to their subject areas.
Here are just some of the titles available:
Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary by
Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society by Call Number: Central Library Main collection: HT1521 .EJ7ISBN: 9781412926942Publication Date: 2008
Oxford Encyclopedia of The Modern World by Call Number: onlineISBN: 0195176324Publication Date: 2008
Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace by Call Number: onlineISBN: 019533468XPublication Date: 2010
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World HistoryCall Number: Central Library Main collection D23 .BG553ISBN: 0974309109Publication Date: 2005Great Barrington, Mass. : Berkshire Pub. Group
Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics by Call Number: Central Librar, Main collection: JZ1160 .EJ7ISBN: 0415311608Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Conflicts Since World War II by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781317471868Publication Date: 2015 (2nd edition)
A Selection of Online Reference Databases
- Complete Dictionary of Scientific BiographyProvides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.
- General Reference Center GoldA general interest database that provides access to magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and reference books. Content covers current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
- Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyAn illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001.
- Oxford Reference Online PremuimLiterary collection of over 130 dictionaries and encyclopedias, plus thesauri and guides to English grammar and usage. Over 6,000 searchable, full colour illustrations plus 475 political, geographical and locator maps as well as country flags. Includes the Western Civilization Collection and Literature Collection.
- Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New ZealandNew Zealand in Brief gives concise, up-to-date information and essential facts about New Zealand.
- Very Short IntroductionsConcise introductions to a wide range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, and new ideas to make challenging topics highly readable. The major subject areas (Arts & Humanities, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, Law, Medicine & Health) are divided by specific topics.