Neuroscience: Home
The Neurosciences Subject Guide
Designed to be useful, relevant and user-friendly, this guide will provide you with access to a range of key library and information resources to aid your studies/research in Neuroscience. You can navigate this guide using the tabs across the top:
Journals & Databases Books Referencing & Writing Multimedia Resources Postgrad Research Websites
The majority of the print Neuroscience resources can be found in the Health Sciences Library located opposite Dunedin Hospital in the Sayers Building.
For further assistance with your research, please feel free to make an appointment to see the Neuroscience Subject Librarian Lynne Knapp (Health Sciences Library).
Useful quick links
- PubMedA citation database for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Citations may include links to full-text content.
- JoVe - NeuroscienceJoVE Neuroscience is a multidisciplinary section devoted to investigations of the structure, function, physiology, and pathophysiology of the brain and nervous system. Included methodologies range from molecular and cellular level studies to full central and peripheral neural systems. Potential treatment platforms and surgical techniques for neurological diseases and disorders are also presented in this section.
- Science Direct - NeuroscienceBrowse Neuroscience journals available in Science Direct
- Big BrainBig Brain is a free, publicly available tool that provides considerable neuroanatomical insight into the human brain, thereby allowing the extraction of microscopic data for modeling and simulation. BigBrain enables testing of hypotheses on optimal path lengths between interconnected cortical regions or on spatial organization of genetic patterning, redefining the traditional neuroanatomy maps such as those of Brodmann and von Economo.
- BrainfactsBrainfacts is a website that features all sorts of information about the brain including brain basics, sensing, thinking and behaving, and diseases and disorders.
Liaison Librarian | Kaitiaki Pukapuka
Plan your search
Before you start searching the databases, it helps to take time to plan your search.
Step 1: Clearly define the topic or research question
Step 2: Divide the topic or question into separate key concepts
Step 3: Select alternative search terms and synonyms for each concept
Step 4: Consider using text word symbols such as truncation * and "phrase searching"
Step 5: Select search terms to combine using Boolean logic - AND, OR, NOT
Step 6: Select relevant databases via the Library homepage or your Subject Guide
Step 7: When searching a database look for subject heading options
Step 8: Run text word searches to complement subject heading searches
Step 9: Review the results and modify your search strategy as required