Skip to Main Content

ResearchSmart: University of Otago research skills for Health Science and Science students

ResearchSmart Background

The ResearchSmart modules have been created for new students studying Health Science and Science, on Dunedin campus.

Goal: To provide students with an introduction to the research skills for searching for, applying, evaluating, and citing information at university level. 

Students will gain a basic understanding of these research concepts by completing the optional introductory, and four core ResearchSmart modules:

  • Module 0:  Introduction to the Library  (non-core - for those new to University of Otago) (see Health Science vs Science option)
  • Module 1:  Finding and using information. (see Health Science vs Science option)
  • Module 2:  Developing good search techniques. (see Health Science vs Science option)
  • Module 3:  Academic integrity. 
  • Module 4:  Citing and Referencing in Vancouver, or APA 7th, Harvard (Limerick), Chicago Author-Date, or CSE 9th Style. 

The modules include a variety of information, links, and interactive skill-based activities, to enable your research skill development as a budding scholar.

We recommend viewing and completing the modules on a computer or laptop using either a Chrome, Firefox or Edge browser.

Click Start Course for any module below:

Module 0: Introduction to the Library

In this module you will be looking at some of the recommended services, tools, and resources available to you through the Library. 

Objectives

By the end of this module you should be able to:

  • Find your way around the Health Sciences [Science] Library
  • Use the Library homepage to access search tools and services 
  • Use Chat to a Librarian to get help
  • Search for materials on Reserve for your paper
  • Book a Group Study Room

Link

Module 0: Introduction to the Library

In this module you will be looking at some of the recommended services, tools, and resources available to you through the Library. 

Objectives

By the end of this module you should be able to:

  • Find your way around the Health Sciences [Science] Library
  • Use the Library homepage to access search tools and services 
  • Use Chat to a Librarian to get help
  • Search for materials on Reserve for your paper
  • Book a Group Study Room

Link

Module 1: Finding & using information

This module introduces you to key skills and knowledge you will need to find information for your subjects/assignments.

Objectives

By the end of this module you should be able to:

  • Find resources using Library Search | Ketu
  • Find books, journals and journal articles in the Library
  • Understand the anatomy of a citation
  • Identify different types of information sources
  • Evaluate information sources
  • Know when to use a database or search engine

Link

 

Module 1: Finding & using information

This module introduces you to key skills and knowledge you will need to find information for your subjects/assignments.

Objectives

By the end of this module you should be able to:

  • Find resources using Library Search | Ketu
  • Find books, journals and journal articles in the Library
  • Understand the anatomy of a citation
  • Identify different types of information sources
  • Evaluate information sources
  • Know when to use a database or search engine

Link

Module 2: Developing good search techniques

In this module you’ll learn how to construct a search strategy and to search databases effectively.

Objectives

By the end of this module you should be able to:

  • Use the 5A model to search for information
  • Plan your search by creating an effective search strategy
  • Create a PICOT/PECOT search strategy [for Health  professional courses only]
  • Find relevant Subject Guides to identify some useful databases
  • Understand the difference between using keywords and subject headings to search for information
  • Conduct a literature search using a keyword only database - Scopus and/or Web of Science
  • Conduct a literature search using a subject heading database - PubMed and/or Medline

Link

Module 2: Developing good search techniques

In this module you’ll learn how to construct a search strategy and to search databases effectively.

Objectives

By the end of this module you should be able to:

  • Use the 5A model to search for information
  • Plan your search by creating an effective search strategy
  • Create a PICOT/PECOT search strategy [for Health  professional courses only]
  • Find relevant Subject Guides to identify some useful databases
  • Understand the difference between using keywords and subject headings to search for information
  • Conduct a literature search using a keyword only database - Scopus and/or Web of Science
  • Conduct a literature search using a subject heading database - PubMed and/or Medline

Link

Module 3: Academic Integrity

In this module you’ll learn how to use information ethically by adhering to the principles of academic integrity.

Objectives

By the end of this module you should be able to:

  • Understand the meaning of academic integrity
  • Distinguish between forms of academic integrity and academic misconduct
  • Practise academic integrity when using information sources ethically.

Link

 

Module 4: Citing and Referencing in ... different styles

Module 4: Citing and Referencing

This module introduces you to the skills of citing and referencing your information sources using APA 7th Style.

Objectives

By the end of this module you should be able to:

  • Understand why and when to cite information sources in your assignments
  • Know the citation style for your paper
  • Identify how to use in-text citations when you paraphrase or use a quotation in your writing
  • Know the parts, patterns and order required to reference different information types

Link

 

Module 4: Citing and Referencing

This module introduces you to the skills of citing and referencing your information sources using Chicago 18th Author-Date Style.

Objectives

By the end of this module you should be able to:

  • Understand why and when to cite information sources in your assignments
  • Know the citation style for your paper
  • Identify how to use in-text citations when you paraphrase or use a quotation in your writing
  • Know the parts, patterns and order required to reference different information types

Link

This module introduces you to the skills of citing and referencing your information sources using Chicago 17th Author-Date Style.

Objectives

By the end of this module you should be able to:

  • Understand why and when to cite information sources in your assignments
  • Know the citation style for your paper
  • Identify how to use in-text citations when you paraphrase or use a quotation in your writing
  • Know the parts, patterns and order required to reference different information types

Link

This module introduces you to the skills of citing and referencing your information sources using Chicago 18th Notes-Bibliography Style.

Objectives

By the end of this module you should be able to:

  • Understand why and when to cite information sources in your assignments
  • Know the citation style for your paper
  • Identify how to use in-text citations when you paraphrase or use a quotation in your writing
  • Know the parts, patterns and order required to reference different information types

Link

 

Module 4: Citing and Referencing

This module introduces you to the skills of citing and referencing your information sources using CSE 9th Style.

Objectives

By the end of this module you should be able to:

  • Understand why and when to cite information sources in your assignments
  • Know the citation style for your paper
  • Identify how to use in-text citations when you paraphrase or use a quotation in your writing
  • Know the parts, patterns and order required to reference different information types

Link

Link for CSE 8th ed.

 

Module 4: Citing and Referencing

This module introduces you to the skills of citing and referencing your information sources using Harvard (Limerick) Style.

Objectives

By the end of this module you should be able to:

  • Understand why and when to cite information sources in your assignments
  • Know the citation style for your paper
  • Identify how to use in-text citations when you paraphrase or use a quotation in your writing
  • Know the parts, patterns and order required to reference different information types

Link

 

Module 4: Citing and Referencing

This module introduces you to the skills of citing and referencing your information sources using Vancouver  Style.

Objectives

By the end of this module you should be able to:

  • Understand why and when to cite information sources in your assignments
  • Know the citation style for your paper
  • Identify how to use in-text citations when you paraphrase or use a quotation in your writing
  • Know the parts, patterns and order required to reference different information types

Link