This is the "Home" page of the "Microbiology and Immunology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Microbiology and Immunology  

Last Updated: Nov 18, 2014 URL: http://otago.libguides.com/Microbiology_Immunology Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Navigation

Journals & Databases - Journal Article Databases

Books - Books & e-Books

Referencing & Writing - Citation styles, Referencing & Writing

Multimedia Resources - e-Resources, Podcasts, Videos & Images

Postgrad Research - Theses, Research Repositories, Conferences, Open Access & How to keep up to date

Websites - NZ & International Resources & Organisations

Apps - Smart phone & Tablet apps

Latest News / Did you know?

  • JoVe - Immunology and Infection
    JoVE Immunology and Infection includes content from a variety of fields working toward a shared initiative of improving global health. Techniques evaluating the biological response to pathogens from the molecular to organismal level are presented as well as therapeutic agents and their efficacy in treating disease.
  • Current Protocols in Cytometry
    Newly added to the University Library. Current Protocols in Cytometry is a "best practices" collection that distills and organizes the absolute latest techniques from the top cytometry labs and specialists worldwide. It is updated every 3 months.
  • New Microbiology & Immunology books
    Looking for an easy way to find out about new books on microbiology and immunology in the Medical Library? Subscribe to the weekly RSS feed.
  • Latest news from the Microbiology and Immunology Department
    Link to the latest news from the Microbiology and Immunology Department
 

The Microbiology & Immunology Subject Guide...

This guide provides key library and information resources to aid your studies and research in Microbiology & Immunology.

The Microbiology & Immunology Resources can be found in both the Science Library and the Medical Library.

Please contact the Librarians on this page if you have any questions about finding and using research resources for Microbiology & Immunology. We also welcome suggestions for additional resources or other ways to improve this guide.

For further assistance, you can make an appointment to see the Subject Specialist Librarian's - Christy Ballard (Health Sciences) or Mel Remy (Science).

 

Plan your search

Before you start searching the databases,  it helps to take time to plan your search.

Step 1:  Clearly define the topic or research question

Step 2:  Divide the topic or question into separate key concepts

Step 3:  Select alternative search terms and synonyms for each concept

Step 4:  Consider using text word symbols such as truncation and "phrase searching"

Step 5:  Select search terms to combine using Boolean logic - AND, OR, NOT

Step 6:  Select relevant databases via the Library homepage or your Subject Guide

Step 7:  When searching a database look for subject heading options

Step 8:  Run text word searches to complement subject heading searches

Step 9:  Review the results and modify your search strategy as required

Liaison Librarian | Kaitiaki Pukapuka

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Melanie Remy
Contact Info
melanie.remy@otago.ac.nz
(03) 479-7486
Science Library, Science III Building
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip