Skip to main content

CINAHL Searching: Saving Your Search

Why Save My Search?

If you've been working on your search for a long time, you might want a break from it, for a few hours, or even a few days. By setting yourself up with a CINAHL username and password, you can then save your search to work on at a later stage.

Creating a Username and Password, and Saving Your Search

Before you can save your search, you need to set yourself up with a CINAHL username and password, by clicking on the 'Save Searches/Alerts' link. It looks like this:

Step 1 - When you click on the 'Save Searches /Alerts' link, you'll see a new page that asks you to log in. There's also a link on that page that says 'Create a new Account'; click on this.

Step 2 - Fill out the form. Note that the password needs to be reasonably complicated, otherwise CINAHL won't accept it. You can see how weak or strong your potential password is as you type it in.

Step 3 - Click on 'Save Changes' at the bottom of the page.

Step 4 - You've now created an account, but you need to save your search. Give your search a meaningful name, then click on 'Save'.

You now have both an account and a saved search! Click on the 'Continue' button.

You'll notice that a few areas of the page look slightly different:

a) There's a small 'My' near the EBSCO logo on the left of the page

b) Your name is near the top right of the page

c) The folder now has something in it - your saved search.

 

You can sign out and close your session now.

Going Back To My Saved Search

Once you've saved a search, it's very easy to get back to it at a later stage..

Step 1 - Go to CINAHL

Step 2 - Go to 'Sign In', near the top right of the screen

Step 3 - Put in your CINAHL username and password, then click on 'OK'

Step 4 - Click on the folder icon

Step 5 - On the left of the new page that opens, click on 'Saved Searches'.

Step 6 - Click on 'Retrieve Saved Search' for your search

Your search will now display, minus the numbers of results for each line in your search strategy. To display this, tick the 'Select/deselect all' box on the left of the page:

then 'Refresh Search Results' on the right of the page:

then 'OK':