LibGuides: Anatomy: Home

The Anatomy Subject Guide

anatomy Designed to be useful, relevant and user-friendly, this guide will provide you with access to a range of key library and information resources to aid your studies/research in Anatomy. You can navigate this guide using the tabs across the top:

Journals & Databases Books Referencing & Writing Multimedia Resources Postgrad Research Websites Biological Anthropology

The majority of the print Anatomy resources can be found in the Health Sciences Library located opposite Dunedin Hospital in the Sayers Building.

For further assistance with your research, please feel free to make an appointment to see the Anatomy Subject Librarian - Lynne Knapp

Useful quick links

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy presents more than 300 3D rotational gross anatomy videos featuring real cadaver specimens. The specimens have not been embalmed and therefore retain the colour, texture and mobility of the living body.
e-Anatomy: The Interactive Atlas of Human Anatomy
Atlas of human anatomy: cross-sectional anatomy, gross anatomy, radiological anatomy. Provides medical imaging and pictures of head and neck, thorax abdomen and pelvis, limbs, and spine.
The Visible Human Project
The Visible Human Project is the creation of complete, anatomically detailed, 3-D representations of the normal male and female human bodies. Acquisition of transverse CT, MR and cryosection images of representative male and female cadavers has been completed. The male was sectioned at one millimeter intervals, the female at one-third of a millimeter intervals.
PubMed
A citation database for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Citations may include links to full-text content.

Plan your search

Before you start searching the databases, it helps to take time to plan your search.

Step 1: Clearly define the topic or research question

Step 2: Divide the topic or question into separate key concepts

Step 3: Select alternative search terms and synonyms for each concept

Step 4: Consider using text word symbols such as truncation and "phrase searching"

Step 5: Select search terms to combine using Boolean logic - AND, OR, NOT

Step 6: Select relevant databases via the Library homepage or your Subject Guide

Step 7: When searching a database look for subject heading options

Step 8: Run text word searches to complement subject heading searches

Step 9: Review the results and modify your search strategy as required

Search Strategy template example

ResearchRabbit

ResearchRabbit is an innovative "citation-based literature mapping tool" available online. Optimise your time searching for references as you start planning your essay, minor project, or literature review.

What is Research Rabbit? A quick guide from James Cook University.

Library Kaiāwhina

Library Kaiāwhina are here to support tauira Māori across the University of Otago Libraries. Find out who they are.