Classics: Databases

These ancient messages and sketches offer a window into the daily life and interests of the people who lived in the ancient world, especially in Herculaneum and Pompeii. They provide perspectives on Roman society, the ancient economy, religion, spoken language, and literacy.
Thumbnail image is not from this database and is an example of content type - see image here.

Media from top museums, archives, scholars, and artists, with a specialized suite of tools for teaching and learning with visual materials.
Thumbnail image is not from this database and is an example of content type - see image here.

The Classical Art Research Centre leads and supports research on ancient art. At its heart is the Beazley Archive, which includes the world's largest collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery. University of Oxford.
Thumbnail image is not from this database and is an example of content type - see image here.

Brings the written treasures of the ancient Greek and Roman world “within the reach of all who care for the finer things in life.” Enjoy its Greek and Latin texts alongside English translations, in the familiar ways and in surprisingly new ones. Harvard University Press.
Thumbnail image is not from this database and is an example of content type - see image here.

A collection of textual and visual materials on the Archaic and Classical Greek world. The resources include primary and secondary texts, site plans, digital images, and maps, vases, sculptures, coins, sites, building, and gems.
Thumbnail image is not from this database and is an example of content type - see image here.

A comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. Each user must register for a user profile to access the full corpus via the login.
Thumbnail image is not from this database and is an example of content type - see image here.

Designed for academic institutions, this database provides coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals. It supports research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and more.

Bibliographic and citation information for journal articles in the arts and humanities. Individually selected, relevant items from major science and social science journals are also indexed.

Established in 1995, the Encyclopedia Mythica is dedicated to become the single largest resource on mythology and folklore on the internet. The present edition contains thousands of articles about deities and beings from all corners of the world, and new articles are added frequently. The information in the encyclopedia has been compiled from a great number of different and unique sources (books, journals and publications, oral traditions, etc.) into one, easily accessible website.

A multidisciplinary bibliographic database covering Europe, North Africa and the Middle East for the entire period from AD 300 to 1500. It aims to provide a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) published worldwide in over 35 different languages.

Provides full-text access to back issues (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years) of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. The Library's access includes all Arts & Sciences Collections, the Life Sciences Collection, Business IV, and the Ireland Collection.

A specialised bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilisations. The database provides citations to journal articles and books, with abstracts in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian.

This citation database covers literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. The database also includes access to the MLA Directory of Periodicals.

A collection of textual and visual materials on the Archaic and Classical Greek world. The resources include primary and secondary texts, site plans, digital images, and maps. The Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser documents vases, sculptures, coins, sites, building, and gems.

Provides digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. A source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals with over 120 publishers currently participating.

A leading electronic database providing indexing/abstracting and full-text access to scholarly and general interest publications. It combines information from a number of online databases with subjects covering: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.

Provides access to high quality films of leading British theatre productions as well as behind-the-scenes documentaries and interviews.

Provides real-time resources through recorded TV programmes, live streams and on demand videos. First-time users must register.

A streaming service that provides access to video content sourced from leading suppliers.

Repository for selected research produced at the University of Otago. Includes Book, Book chapters, Journal Articles, Theses, Working Papers and more.

A window into the cultural, heritage and historical material within the University of Otago's Hocken Collections and Special Collections.

Special Collections contains books and manuscripts which span the earliest examples of European printing (1473) through to modern first editions and publications from the 20th and 21st centuries.