Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Zealand Statistical Data
Detailed information about NZ Statistics is available on this subject guide:
The census is the official count of how many people and dwellings there are in New Zealand. It takes a snapshot of the people in New Zealand and the places where we live.
Elections New Zealand
Information on enrolling, electoral rolls, voting and MMP, New Zealand's democracy, electoral rules, election results, research and more.
Provides access to a wide range of time series data from Stats NZ. Includes: economic information, demographic measures, arrival and departure data, wholesale and retail trade information, exports and imports data, building consents data.
New Zealand Election Study
An up to date analysis of New Zealander's political behaviour during a period of social and economic change and, most particularly, during the transition between electoral systems: the first past the post (FPP) or plurality electoral system in effect in New Zealand from the origins of the political system, and the new Mixed Member Proportional (MMP) system which is in effect from the 1996 election. The study covers the elections from 1990-2020.
New Zealand Government Datasets Online
A directory of publicly-available, non-personal New Zealand government held datasets. This site does not host data, instead it links to datasets held on other government websites.
Reserve Bank of New Zealand Statistics
All new and revised data published by the Reserve Bank of New Zealand. Includes exchange rates, interest rates, financial statistics, economic indicators, Government finance and securities, NZ's International position and more.
Statistics New Zealand
Free search for official New Zealand statistics on the Census, Business, Education, Agriculture, Households, Industry and much more.
International Statistical Data
Cross-National Time-Series (CNTS) Data Archive
Provides ranges of annual data from 1815 to the present for all countries for many variables of use to the social scientist researcher. Includes Domestic Conflict Event Data: Terrorism and Guerrilla Warfare, Assassinations, Revolutions, Riots, Purges, Major Government Crises, Anti-Government Demonstrations, General Strikes and Political, Legislative and Economic Data.
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
IPSA Portal: Databanks
Lists and links to Offical Records, Media Sources, Statistical and Data Archives and Special Collections that have been selected, rewieved and evaluated by the International Political Science Association.
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's statistical databases.
United States Open Data
Home of United States Open Data. Includes tools, and resources to conduct research, design data visualizations, etc.
High quality statistical data, research outputs, information and analysis on global trends in the world economy.
Database Search Tips PDF
Two page PDF detailing keyword and boolean search tips, Google Scholar boolean search tips, and reverse citation searching.
Electronic Access Help
If you have any queries about our electronic resources (databases, e-journals or e-books), please contact the library using the form on this web page.
The Interloan service enables library users to search for items, create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.
This video shows how to request a PDF scan of a book section or print journal from any Otago library.
Historical Statistical Data
E.H.net (Economic History)
Besides "Measuring Worth" , this site has archived data from a number of scholars. Most data sets are about America or Europe in the 19th & 20th centuries. There is also a list of ongoing projects and data sets archived elsewhere.
Global Financial Data
Historical data on bonds, commodities, interest rates, stock markets and indices, futures, exchange rates, GDP, prices, and unemployment. Includes economic data: 1624+; stock market data: 1693+; real estate data 1830+.
Historical Census and Colonial Data Archive (Australia)
The Historical Census and Colonial Data Archive (HCCDA) is a searchable archive of Australian Colonial census publications and reports. It's a sub-archive of the Australian Data Archive (ADA). Please note that the archive contains colonial census reports and not the raw census data.
UK Data Archive
To find historical data, Browse by Subject and then choose "History" or one of the subcategories. A list of data sets will be displayed. To access the data, users must apply directly to the UKDA.