Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image by Silvestre Cajigan from Pixabay
Welcome to the History Subject Guide
Explore the tabs above for relevant resources and research advice
Free Access to eBooks and Journals Articles on Ukraine and Russia
De Gruyter in partnership with their publishing partners are opening up a curated collection of titles pertaining to Ukraine and Russia. Follow the links in this spreadsheet to explore the content of each resource.
Visualising the History of Pandemics
As humans have spread across the world, so have infectious diseases. Even in this modern era, outbreaks are nearly constant, though not every outbreak reaches pandemic level as COVID-19 has. This visualization outlines some of history’s most deadly pandemics, from the Antonine Plague to the current COVID-19 event.
New Zealand Electronic Text Collection
The New Zealand Electronic Text Collection comprises significant New Zealand and Pacific Island texts and materials held by Victoria University of Wellington Library. This encompasses both digitised heritage material and born-digital resources. The texts made available on the NZETC are freely accessible to all researchers regardless of their affiliation with Victoria University of Wellington.
Hākena | Hocken Collections
Hākena allows you to search for material in the Archives and Manuscripts, Ephemera, Photographs and Pictures collections of the Hocken Collections. Hocken's collections celebrate the histories, cultures and natural environments of Aotearoa New Zealand, the Pacific and Antarctica with special emphasis on southern New Zealand. The collections include archives, books, drawings, journals, maps, music and film, newspapers, paintings, photographs and posters, dating from the seventeenth century to the present day.
Special Collections at Otago
Special Collections contains books and manuscripts which span the earliest examples of European printing (1473) through to modern first editions and publications from the 20th and 21st centuries. All aspects of the book, its history and production are highlighted: print, paper, typography, bindings, illustrations, design, publishing history, provenance, and book collecting. Items in the Special Collections may be consulted upon presentation of approved identification, Monday to Friday – 8:30 am to 5.00 pm.
Bomb Sight - Mapping the World War II London Blitz Bomb Census
The Bomb Sight project is mapping the London WW2 bomb census between 7/10/1940 and 06/06/1941. Explore the interactive map to see where the bombs fell and to discover memories and photographs from the period.
The Dartmouth Vietnam Project
The Dartmouth Vietnam Project brings together members of the Dartmouth community to conduct, record, and preserve oral histories about the Vietnam War era (1950-1975). The online archive of interviews is a joint collaboration between current Dartmouth students and older members of our community who have volunteered to share their stories and memories of the war and its impact on American society.
Subjects: Art History
, Irish Studies
, Peace and Conflict Studies
, Scottish Studies
, Visual Culture