Marine Science: Other Information Sources (Grey Literature)

See our  Patents Guide for information about finding patents

To locate and access theses and dissertations produce at Otago, in Aotearoa, or worldwide

• Library Search | Ketu 

  Using the Advanced Search combine your search terms with words like 'Thesis' or 'Dissertation'.

• Thesis Information - Finding 

  The 'Finding' tab of the 'Thesis Information' guide includes links to databases containing theses.

• Otago University Research Archive (OUR Archive) 

  Respository for research, including theses, produced at the University

Research repositories are online spaces to store and access research outputs, such as research journal articles and theses. Try searching these sites to find more research:

• NZResearch 

Research documents produced at universities, polytechnics, and other research institutions throughout New Zealand; formerly KRIS (Kiwi Research Information Service)

• Otago University Research Archive (OUR Archive) 

Repository for selected research produced at the University of Otago. Includes Book, Book chapters, Journal Articles, Theses, Working Papers and more.

• Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)

              A consolidated searching platform for digital theses and dissertations around the world. 

• NERC Open Research Archive (UK) 

  From the UK's Natural Environment Research Council (NERC).

• Plymouth Marine Science Electronic Archive (UK) 

  Open access repository for research output from three organisations based in Plymouth: The Marine Biological Association (MBA), Plymouth Marine Laboratory (PML) and the Sir Alister Hardy Foundation for Ocean Science (SAHFOS).

• AquaDocs 

  AquaDocs is the joint open access repository of the UNESCO/IOC InternationaI Oceanographic Data and Information Exchange (IODE) and the International Association of Aquatic and Marine Science Libraries and Information Centers (IAMSLIC) with support from the FAO Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts. It is a thematic repository covering the natural marine, coastal, estuarine /brackish and fresh water environments and includes all aspects of the science, technology, management and conservation of these environments, their organisms and resources, and the economic, sociological and legal aspects.

• Scripps Institution of Oceanography eScholarship (USA) 

  The SIO's research covers physical, chemical, geological, and geophysical studies of the oceans, earth and atmosphere as well as biological research.

• Social Science Research Network (SSRN) 

SSRN's objective is to provide worldwide distribution of research to authors and their readers. Any paper an author uploads to SSRN is downloadable for free, worldwide.

• Marine Geoscience Data System (MGDS)

  A digital repository for marine geoscience research data acquired throughout the global oceans and adjoining continental margins. Sponsored by IEDA, the Interdisciplinary Earth Data Alliance.

• BCO-DMO Data Collection

  Datasets produced by publicly-funded U.S. science programmes From the Biological & Chemical Oceanography Data Management Office of the U.S. National Science Foundation (NFA).

Here are listed some general sources of grey literature. Some focus on the sciences and health sciences, while others are more general in scope.

• Open Access Australasia

Links to a directory of Open Access Repositories across Australasia with various types of Grey Literature, including data, preprints and thesis

• Open Grey (access to archived database)

“System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe, is your open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe and allows you to export records and locate the documents.

“Examples of grey (gray) literature include technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, some conference papers, some official publications, and other types of grey literature.

“OpenGrey covers Science, Technology, Biomedical Science, Economics, Social Science and Humanities.”

• Science.gov 

  Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information from the USA including research and development results.

• U.S. Government Documents 

  In-depth guide to U.S. Government document resources at the University of Pennsylvania

• data.govt.nz 

Access to data sets from New Zealand government agencies and government-funded projects. (including Local Govt and CRI’s, and Universities)

• DigitalNZ
• An initiative that aims to make New Zealand digital content easy to find, share and use. This includes content from government departments, publicly funded organisations, the private sector, and community groups.

• New Zealand Information Sources Guide (From University of Otago Library)

• NZ Research.org.nz

  This site includes peer-reviewed and other research from universities, polytechnics, and research organisations throughout New Zealand.

• Nationally Significant Databases and Collections

are the memory-bank of New Zealand's flora, fauna, and geological and climatic history.( from Crown Research Institutes

• NZ Science via NZ Index 

  An index of New Zealand science papers and reports, provided by Crown Research Institutes and the Royal Society of New Zealand. There are some gaps in content (especially for recent dates), it's best to also search CRI and the Royal Society websites as well) 

• Science New Zealand publications
• Crown Research Institute Publications:

AgResearch publications 

ESR publications 

GNS Science publications 

Manaaki Whenua Landcare Research publications 

NIWA publications 

Plant & Food Research publications

Scion publications

Callaghan Innovation publications

• Prime Minister's Chief Science Adviser Publications
• (Archive 2009-2018)
• Department of Conservation Publications
• Royal Society of New Zealand Research Updates

• Census of Marine Life

  An international project to compile and increase access to knowledge of the diversity, geographic distribution, and abundance of marine life. Scientists from 80+ nations produced 2,600 publications and described 1,200 new species.

• FishBase

  Catalogue of data for thousands of fish species. Information includes classification, identification and description, environment, climate and range, distribution, and biology.

• WoRMS: World Register of Marine Species

  The aim of a World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS) is to provide an authoritative and comprehensive list of names of marine organisms, including information on synonymy. While highest priority goes to valid names, other names in use are included so that this register can serve as a guide to interpret taxonomic literature.

• IUCN Red List

  The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species™ is widely recognized as the most comprehensive, objective global approach for evaluating the conservation status of plant and animal species. This site provides news, species fact sheets, GIS range data, and research reports on efforts to conserve species.

• OBIS: Ocean Biogeographic Information System

  OBIS strives to document the ocean's diversity, distribution and abundance of life. Created by the Census of Marine Life, OBIS is now part of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO, under its International Oceanographic Data and Information Exchange (IODE) programme.

• World Ocean Database & World Ocean Atlas Series

  From the Ocean Climate Laboratory of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (USA).

• Marine Science Portal on EurekAlert

  News and publications from research institutes and universities. From the American Association for the Advancement of Sciences.

• LITTERBASE

  Uses maps to summarise results from global scientific studies on marine litter, aimed at increasing public knowledge of its impact. From the Alfred Wegener Institute Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research.

• Marine Science Metadata Resources

  From the UK's Digital Curation Centre. Find metadata specifications for use by marine scientists and links to information about metadata standards, including profiles, implementation tools, and use cases of data repositories currently implementing them.

• Heritage Biodiversity Library

  The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives. BHL is revolutionizing global research by providing free, worldwide access to knowledge about life on Earth.

• CSIRO Oceans 

  Research on oceans and coasts from Australia's national science agency. Search the Publications section to find research reports.

• Australian Institute of Marine Science (AIMS) 

  AIMS research programs support the management of tropical marine environments around the world, with a primary focus on the Great Barrier Reef World Heritage Area, the pristine Ningaloo Marine Park in Western Australia and northwest Australia.

• Fisheries and Oceans Canada 

  Canadian publications and statistics on aquaculture, aquatic species, fisheries, marine areas, and ocean industries.

• National Sea Grant Libraries 

  Several digital libraries on coastal and marine issues. From the U.S. National Sea Grant Office.

• Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution 

  WHOI is the world's largest private, nonprofit ocean research organization. Located in Massachusetts, USA.

• NOAA: National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration 

  U.S. government agency that monitors, educates, and conducts research into oceans, fisheries, climate, and coasts.

• FAO Fisheries & Aquaculture Department 

  A United Nations organisation for the promotion of responsible and sustainable fisheries, particularly in developing countries.

• Challenger Society for Marine Science 

  The UK scholarly society for marine scientists.

• Sustainable Seas National Science Challenge

  The Sustainable Seas National Science Challenge work is focused on enhancing the use of New Zealand marine resources within environmental and biological constraints incorporating a Mātauranga Māori perspective.