LibGuides: Geology: Journals & Databases

Databases

GeoRef (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive bibliographic database for geosciences provides access to over 3.4 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. It covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present (including all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey), and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This collection contains earth, atmospheric and aquatic science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles. The aquatic science coverage includes the entire range of bibliographic records from Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA). The coverage for atmospheric science includes the entire range of bibliographic records from Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA).

FRED: the Fossil Record Database
FRED is a computer database for the New Zealand Fossil Record File (FRF) which is a recording scheme for fossil localities in NZ and nearby regions. FRED minimally contains registration information about fossil localities, including geographic coordinates, collection details, and sometimes stratigraphic and lithological information also.
GeoScienceWorld (GSW)
GeoScienceWorld (GSW) is a collaborative, non-profit resource for earth sciences research. Built on a core database of peer-reviewed journals, it provides access to 45 full-text scholarly journals, offers specialized searching capabilities, and is integrated with the GeoRef abstract and index service.
The Lyell Collection
The Lyell Collection is a major collection of online Earth Science literature, hosted by the Geological Society of London. It brings together key journals, special publications and Society book series to create a unique resource for researcher and student alike.
NZ Stratigraphic Lexicon
This is a comprehensive database of formally named rock units in New Zealand. It includes offshore islands, Kermadecs, Chatham Islands, Subantarctic Islands (but excludes Ross Dependency (Antarctica)).

SciFinder (from CAS) This link opens in a new window
First time users must register before use (see link below). This comprehensive database for chemical reactions, substances, structures and indexed chemistry patents includes journal abstracts, patents and other literature references on all areas of chemistry and its applications. Also containing detailed information on compounds and substances including their properties, reactions and full synthetic methods as well as protein and nucleotide sequences. A sophisticated Retrosynthesis Planner available can also be found in SciFinder.

SciFinder registration
First time users for SciFinder must register.

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science Core Collection includes several databases: 1) Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE) covers more than 9,200 journals across 178 scientific disciplines, with over 53 million records 2) Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) covers more than 3,400 journals in the social sciences, with over 9.3 million records 3) Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) covers more than 1,800 journals in the arts and humanities, with over 4.9 million records. 4) Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) covers more than 7,800 journals in all disciplines, with over 3 million records. 5) Book Citation Index (BCI) covers more than 116,000 editorially selected books, with over 53.2 million records. 6) Conference Proceedings Citation Index (CPCI) covers more than 205,000 conference proceedings, with over 70.1 million records[
Web of Science All Databases This link opens in a new window
Search across Web of Science Core Collection, Current Contents Connect, KCI-Korean Journal Database, Medline, Preprint Citation Index, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index and Zoological Record for comprehensive, multidisciplinary results. 1864+
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources, with over 90 million records from nearly 27,000 peer-reviewed journal titles (and nearly 300,000 books) from more than 7,000 publishers.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Accessing the full text of a journal article

Many databases give access to the full text articles, but others provide only citations. With citation-only databases, look for the Article Link button (above) or text. Article Link connects the Library article databases to the Library eJournal collections, so that you can click through to access the full-text of an article, if the LIbrary holds it.

Finding journal articles using Library Search | Ketu

You can use Library Search | Ketu to access the full text of an article:

1. You can find an article from a citation by searching for the "Title of the article" (within quotation marks)

2. You can also find the Journal that the article was published in by searching the Title of the Journal (usually underlined or in Italics) in Library Search | Ketu Advanced Search

Select in the title and material type Journals
The journal may be held in print, electronically, or both
Browse to find the correct year/volume and page numbers

For further help, check out the resources below...

How to Use Library Search | Ketu
Instructional video on how to use Library Search | Ketu.
Library Search | Ketu Help
This instructional guide will help you navigate all the ways to use Library Search | Ketu

Full text not available?

If the Library doesn't have digital or print access to a journal article, use the Library's Interloan service to request it, and we'll get it for you for free!

Library Interloan