LibGuides: Social and Community Work: Home

Ngā Upoko Tukutuku

https://otago.libguides.com/Nga_Upoko_Tukutuku

Key Databases:

Below are the four places to start searching for academic literature on your topic. Explore the Journal & Databases tab on the navigation bar above for even more options.

Library Search | Ketu Library Search | Ketu provides fast, simple, one-step searching across the University of Otago Library's resources. It is designed to make it quick and easy to begin researching a topic. It is not a replacement for the detailed and precise search tools available from individual subject specific databases.

IBSS - International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest) An online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research with a focus on anthropology, economics, politics and sociology. This database includes bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951.
Index New Zealand
PsycINFO (OvidSP database)

Key Texts:

These books are a great starting point for your study!

Postgraduate Library Information Sessions and Workshops 2022

There are Library sessions and workshops provided specifically for Postgraduate students. For more information and to register go to face-to-face sessions, or Zoom workshops.

Information sessions 10-11am (face to face) and 1-2pm (via Zoom) on the last Wednesday of the month

29 Sep - Postgraduate Library Services – An introduction to Library support, recommended resources and services.
27 Oct - Effective Search Strategies - Learn how to search recommended databases for relevant literature, and manage your results
10 Nov - The Thesis Guide – For new thesis students, about preparation, copyright compliance, submitting, and depositing.
25 Aug, 24 Nov - Researcher Profiles - Building an online profile to promote your research, and yourself.

Hands-on Workshops 10-11.30am (face to face) and 1-2.30pm (via Zoom) on Tuesdays & Thursdays twice a year

21 Oct - Research Data Management - Make sense of the complexity around data storage, description, re-use and archiving.
12 Oct - Getting published - Practical tips for postgraduates. Learn how to develop a publishing strategy and identify the right journals for submission.
14 Oct - Impact Metrics - Understand tools that explain impact factors and ranking for what to read, and where to publish.

ITS and Library staff offer EndNote: Managing your references - A hands-on workshop using EndNote to store, group, edit and annotate references, and cite while you write (basic level). For PC or Mac bookings check dates here.

Need Help?

This page lists key databases and journals you can use for finding resources for your assignments. Use Keyword searches to find articles on your topic.

If you need help with using these resources please contact your Subject Librarian Lisa Chisholm.

Alternatively you can use the Self Help guide for tips on searching and evaluating

You can also look at the Ask Library FAQ's or use LibChat to ask library staff for help

New Zealand Law

When searching for information on New Zealand law you might find the following sources useful:

Feature Resource: Sage Research Methods

Sage Research Methods:

Sage Research Methods
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. The database links SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Includes access to Cases and Datasets.

Other related Guides

You may find these subject guides helpful

See the full list