Geography (Human): Databases
Databases
Databases are online collections of information sources (e.g., academic and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, books, conference papers). The following databases include publications relevant to Human Geography topics.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
A collection of academic (peer reviewed) publications on a range of subject areas, including Human Geography topics. There is full access to most results but some will reference and abstract information only. - Clarivate Web of Science
A multi-disciplinary collection of science related (including social sciences) publications (e.g., academic e-journals, e-books and conference proceedings. - GreenFile
A collection focused on the impact of human activity on the enivronment. Topics include: global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The collection is made up of scholarly research, government information and general-interest publlications.
ScienceDirectA collection of peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works related to all areas of the sciences, including social sciences.
ScopusA multidisciplinary database of peer-reviewed research covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences. The database includes more than 5,000 international publishers including Elsevier (ScienceDirect), Springer, Wiley-Blackwell, Taylor & Francis, and Sage.
- JSTOR
A multidisciplinary collection that includes human geography and social science topics. Mostly made up of books and scholarly/academic journals and articles. Full access is provided to articles that are generally 3-5 years old. Reference and abstract information is availble for the most recent articles. - ProQuest Central
A multidisciplinary collection (including human geography topics) of online scholarly and general interest publications. Full access is provided to most results, but some will reference and abstract information only.
Newspaper databasesBrowse a list of the online newspaper collections available in the Library collection. National and International, historical and present day.
The HubThe Hub is the repository for New Zealand government social science research.
- Google Scholar
If you aren't finding many relevant results in the databases listed above, give this search engine a try. Google Scholar search results are limited to peer review (research based) publications. It's a good idea to add 'geography' (or whatever subject/course the search is related to) as one of the search words. This will help refine your results to ones relating to that discipline.