LibGuides: Peace & Conflict Studies: Data

Statistical Data by Region

Below is a list of global data sources. You can also explore the tabs (above) to find data and statistics relating to a specific geographic region.

FIRST: Facts on International Relations and Security Trends
High-quality, up-to-date and clearly documented information, including: chronologies of conflicts and security-related events, country data, statistics on conflicts, military expenditure and reports on human rights and human security.
Gapminder
Explore data on child health, climate, disasters, education, family, global trends, HIV and poverty.
International Monetory Fund (IMF): Data and Statistics
A range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators.
IPSA Portal: Databanks
Lists and links to databanks which contain governmental outputs as laws, statutes, regulations and court opinions at various levels of the political system (from legislatures to courts and beyond).
OECD iLibrary
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's statistical databases.
Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database (Euromonitor)
Offers integrated access to statistics, reports, insightful comment and business information sources. Coverage is global, more than 200 countries are researched. Users need to register using an "otago.ac.nz email" address.
The Terrorism and Preparedness Data Resource Center (TPDRC)
Archives and distributes data about the nature of intra- (domestic) and international terrorism incidents, organizations, perpetrators, and victims; governmental and nongovernmental responses to terror, including primary, secondary, and tertiary interventions; and citizen's attitudes towards terrorism, terror incidents, and the response to terror.
UN Data
Brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Search and download a variety of statistical resources, and worldwide statistics, including populations, demographics, trade, commodities, and more.
UNESCO Data Centre
The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) collects the data for more than 200 countries from Member States and international organizations. Contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication. You can download predefined tables or build your own. Summary data (profiles and global rankings) are also available.
Uppsala Conflict Data Program (UCDP) Conflict Database
The UCDP Conflict Encyclopedia (UCDP database) is an online, free of charge, database. It is updated and revised several times per year and contains detailed descriptive information on armed conflicts, peace agreements, and several other aspects of organised violence. Coverage is global with information from 1946 and onwards.
World Development Indicators
500 time series indicators for 148 countries and regional and income groups, with basic indicators for a further 62 countries. Time series for most indicators cover 1960 to the present.
World Health Organization
The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database.

African Development Bank Statistics
Statistical data and indicators relating to African Countries. Provides multiple customized tools to gather indicators, analyze them, and export them into multiple formats.
Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa
A variety of general and trade statistics from the COMESA member countries: Angola, Burundi, Comoros, D.R. Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sudan, Swaziland, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.
Open Data for Africa
Search for data, staatistics, and visualisation, or use the links for quick access to Open Data Portals for specific countries.

Quick access to Open Data Portals

Central Africa	East Africa	North Africa	Southern Africa	West Africa
Cameroon	Burundi	Algeria	Angola	Benin
Central African Republic	Comoros	Egypt	Botswana	Burkina Faso
Chad	Djibouti	Libya	Lesotho	Cabo Verde
Congo, Dem. Rep.	Eritrea	Mauritania	Madagascar	Cote d'Ivoire
Congo, Rep.	Ethiopia	Morocco	Malawi	Gambia
Equatorial Guinea	Kenya	Tunisia	Mauritius	Ghana
Gabon	Rwanda		Mozambique	Guinea
	Seychelles		Namibia	Guinea-Bissau
	Somalia		South Africa	Liberia
	South Sudan		Swaziland	Mali
	Sudan		Zambia	Niger
	Tanzania		Zimbabwe	Nigeria
	Uganda			Sao Tome & Principe
				Senegal
				Sierra Leone
				Togo

U.S. Government’s open data
Data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop applications, design data visualizations, and more.
The U.S. Census Bureau
The most recent U.S. censuses are available from this site, along with some historical and state specific data. Includes information on reported voting and registration.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Official source of US economic statistics including national income and product accounts (NIPAs), gross domestic product (GDP) and related measures of national, regional, industry and international accounts
American FactFinder
Source for population, housing, economic and geographic information.

Australian Bureau of Statistics
Australia's official statistical organisation. It assists and encourages informed decision-making, research and discussion within governments and the community, by providing a high quality, objective and responsive national statistical service.
Australian Policy Online
Full text research reports and papers, statistics and other resources on public policy in Australia and New Zealand.
data.gov.au
An easy way to find, access and reuse Australian government data. The site provides both downloadable datasets and links to online data services provided by other government sources.
Statistical information
Find key national indicators and census data for Australia, through links to high quality, national statistics.
The Australian Data Archive (ADA)
A national service for the collection and preservation of digital research data and to make these data available for secondary analysis by academic researchers and other users.

data.govt.nz: NZ Government Datasets Online
A directory of publicly-available, non-personal New Zealand government held datasets. This site does not host data, instead it links to datasets held on other government websites.
Elections New Zealand
Information on enrolling, electoral rolls, voting and MMP, New Zealand's democracy, electoral rules, election results, research and more.
NZ Statistics Guide
A detailed guide to finding statistical information and data from historic to current, using databases, online data sources and publications.
Statistics New Zealand
Official New Zealand statistics on the Census, Business, Education, Agriculture, Households, Industry and much more.
Stats NZ Information Centre
Get fast, friendly help from information advisers – they'll help you find stats on the Statistics NZ website or using their online tools. Phone 0508525525 for Mon-Fri Help Desk support
Census
The census is the official count of how many people and dwellings there are in New Zealand. It takes a snapshot of the people in New Zealand and the places where we live. 2013 Census results are progressively being released.
NZ.Stat
Create tables from a wide range of large datasets You can customise the variables and layout (replaces TableBuilder).
Infoshare
Time series data, including: economic, demographic, arrivals/departures, trade, exports/imports, and building consents.
NZ Yearbook
The New Zealand Official Yearbook has provided a comprehensive statistical picture of life in New Zealand since 1893. ‘Handbooks’ of statistical information go back even further. Several editions of the Yearbook are now available online.
Statisphere
New Zealand's official statistics portal – enabling users, producers and researchers to find available information about New Zealand's Official Statistics System.
Reserve Bank of New Zealand
Data published by the Reserve Bank of New Zealand. Includes exchange rates, interest rates, financial statistics, economic indicators, Government finance and securities, NZ's International position and more.
NZ Herald Data Blog
Curated by Harkanwal Singh, who builds interactive visualisations to help you to make sense of large data sets. See how the country voted in the 2014 election. Includes all 71 electorates. Zoom in right down to individual polling booths.
The New Zealand Social Science Data Service
A space for holding data sets and metadata related to social sciences surveys in New Zealand, for the purposes of encouraging secondary analysis and specifically for aiding in the teaching of research methods in the social sciences.

data.gov.uk
Gateway to statistics, including the number of people eligible to vote in Elections (Local, National and European).
Electoral Commission (UK)
Data from Returning Officers and Electoral Registration Officers on subjects including the number of electors, turnout, rejected ballots and postal voting.
European Union Open Data Portal
A single point of access to a growing range of data produced by the institutions and other bodies of the European Union. Data are free to use, reuse, link and redistribute for commercial or non-commercial purposes.
UK Data Archive
A catalogue of over 5000 data collections, many of which are free to use. You will need to register to access data.
UK Data Service
A unified point of access to quality researh data from ESDS, Census Programme, Secure Data Service and others.

Demystifying Statistics

Watch "The Jedi-Master of data visualisation", statistician Hans Rosling.

Want to play with the bubble-chart yourself?

Gapminder
Learn with bubbles! You can select and compare bubbles, drag the time slider, zoom in and out, and turn trails on/off. Use gapminder to explore data on a wide range of topics, for example:
-200 years that changed the world
-Africa is not a country
-Asia's rise - how and when?
-Is child mortality falling?
-CO2 emissions since 1820
-HIV epidemic 1980-2009
-HIV is concentrated in a few countries.
-People killed in earthquakes
-People killed in floods
-US spends most on health
-USA or China, who emits most CO2
-Wealth & Health of Nations

Search Engines for Data & Statistics

Zanran gets you more meaningful numerical results than any other search engine.

Simply search for the statistics you need:
e.g. NZ unemployment rate
e.g. infant mortality rate in india in 2010
e.g. statistics poverty by age new zealand

Databib is a tool for helping people identify and locate online repositories of research data. Users and bibliographers create and curate records that describe data repositories that users can search.

Peace & Conflict Studies: Data

Statistical Data by Region

Quick access to Open Data Portals

Demystifying Statistics

Search Engines for Data & Statistics

Find open Data