Geography (Physical): Databases & Journals
Databases
Databases are online collections of information sources (e.g., academic and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, books, conference papers). The following databases include publications relevant to Geography and physical sciences.
- Web of Science
A multi-disciplinary collection of science related (including social sciences) publications (e.g., academic e-journals, e-books and conference proceedings. - GreenFile
A collection focused on the impact of human activity on the enivronment. Topics include: global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The collection is made up of scholarly research, government information and general-interest publlications.
ScienceDirectA collection of peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works related to all areas of the sciences.
ScopusA multidisciplinary database of peer-reviewed research covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences. The database includes more than 5,000 international publishers including Elsevier (ScienceDirect), Springer, Wiley-Blackwell, Taylor & Francis, and Sage.
GeoRefAccess information on the geology of North America (since mid 1600s) and the world (from 1933) to the present.
GeoScienceWorld A comprehensive resource for research and communications in the geosciences,including relevantpeer-reviewed journals.
Sage Research Methods DatabaseResearchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Includes access to Cases and Datasets.- IEEE Climate Change CollectionThis a sub-collection of the large IEEEXplore. IEEE has developed a climate change collection of articles on IEEE Xplore. It presents a range of articles, conference papers, etc. from the Xplore collection on related technologies related to climate change.
- Google Scholar
If you aren't finding many relevant results in the databases listed above, give this search engine a try. Google Scholar search results are limited to peer review (research based) publications. It's a good idea to add 'geography' (or whatever subject/course the search is related to) as one of the search words. This will help refine your results to ones relating to that discipline.
Journals
A small selection of the journals available online.
Transactions by Publication Date: 1965 onwardst publishes the very best scholarship from around the world and across the whole spectrum of geographical research. It publishes 'landmark' articles that make a substantial theoretical, conceptual, or empirical contribution to the advancement of geographical understanding.
Geo : geography and environment.Publication Date: 2014 onwardsPublishes original articles from across and beyond the discipline of geography that focus on the environment, climate change, and sustainability.
Resource management journal by Provides up-to-date articles on resource management issues (mainly from members), and is designed to keep members advised of current law and practice on all aspects of resource management matters.
New Zealand geographer ( by Publication Date: 1945 onwardsAn internationally refereed journal focused on all aspects of the physical, human and environmental geographies of Aotearoa New Zealand and the South Pacific region. We publish original articles; commentaries and debates; discussion of educational questions and scholarship of concern to geographers; short interventions and assessments of topical matters of interest to university and high school teachers; and book reviews.
