LibGuides: Geography (Physical): Home

Subject Librarian

For enquiries and support please contact, Paula Whitelock.

Email: paula.whitelock@otago.ac.nz
Location: Robertson Library | 135 Union Street East, College of Education campus
Hours: 8:30-5pm Mon-Fri

Are you new to the University of Otago?

The following guide provides basic information about the Library collections and services and some general tips for searching and evaluating information.

Link to the Library Basics guide - Geography guide

LibChat

Chat with Library staff online!

FEATURED DATABASES

The following databases include a range of publications on the subject of Geography and related subject areas.

What are databases?

Databases are large collections of online resources and these can include: academic and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, books, conference papers, videos, images or sound recordings.
The University subscribes to lots of databases because each one provides access to different publications.
Some databases are subject specific (e.g. health resources) and others are multidisciplinary.
The contents of most database collections are included in Library Search Ketu (the Library catalogue).

Science Direct
A large collection of academic and trade journals relating to the Sciences (social, physical, applied sciences and life sciences). Publications related to Geography are included in this collection.
Scopus
Scopus provides access to article information from a large collection (over 30,000) academic journals (also known as peer reviewed or scholarly journals). The broad subject focus of this database is the sciences (including: life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences and health sciences).
GreenFILE
A database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Type of publications include: scholarly, government and general-interest. Topics covered include: global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

New Zealand Geographic
An online archive of the New Zealand Geographic journal, from its first issue. The publication focuses on the people, places, wildlife and environment of Aotearoa New Zealand.

Engagement advisors

Engagement Advisors at the Library

The University and its Library system, can be a daunting environment. The Library's Engagement Advisors are knowledgeable, friendly and available to support Māori and Pacific students access and explore Library services, resources and spaces.

Donna Waitere
Māori Engagement Advisor
University Library | Te Whare Pukapuka Matua

Email/Īmera: donna.waitere@otago.ac.nz

Sela Pole-Fehoko
Pacific Engagement Advisor
University Library | Te Whare Pukapuka Matua

Email/Īmera: sela.pole-fehoko@otago.ac.nz