LibGuides: Performing Arts: Books &amp; eBooks

Dance

Physics and dance by Emily Coates; Sarah Demers
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9780300240634
Publication Date: 2019
Readers will come away with a broad cultural knowledge of Newtonian to quantum mechanics and classical to contemporary dance.
The people's dance : the power and politics of Guangchang Wu by Rose Martin (Lecturer in dance); Ruohuan Chen
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9789811591662
Publication Date: 2020
This book presents an analysis of how the grassroots movement of Guangchang Wu or 'square dance in China has become a national phenomenon.
(Re)positioning site dance : local acts, global perspectives by Karen Nicole Barbour; Victoria Hunt; Melanie Kloetzel
Call Number: Central : GV1595 .B37 2019 (Book)
ISBN: 9781783209989
Publication Date: 2019
This co-authored book aims to articulate international approaches to making, performing and theorizing site-based dance.
Moving oceans : celebrating dance in the South Pacific by Ralph Buck; Nicholas Rowe
Call Number: Central :GV1726 .M68 2014 (Book)
ISBN: 9781138016828
Publication Date: 2014
Celebrating the diversity of dance across the South Pacific, this volume studies the various experiences, motivations and aims for dance, emerging from the voices of dance professionals in the islands.

Performing Arts

Faces of tradition in Chinese performing arts by Levi Gibbs 1980-
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9780253045867
Publication Date: 2020
By focusing on the performance, scholarship, collection, and teaching of instrumental music, folksong, and classical dance from a variety of disciplines-these case studies highlight the importance of the individual in determining how traditions have been and are represented, maintained, and cultivated.
Performing Arts as High-Impact Practice by Michelle Hayford; Susan Kattwinkel
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9783319729442
Publication Date: 2018
This book investigates how the performing arts in higher education nationally contribute to the "high impact practices," as identified by the Association of American Colleges and Universities (AACU).
Psychotherapy, Literature and the Visual and Performing Arts by Bruce Kirkcaldy
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9783319754239
Publication Date: 2018
Based on theoretical studies, clinical expertise and experiential learning, authors offer detailed guidelines on the value of various art forms in practice.
Knowing in Performing : Artistic Research in Music and the Performing Arts by Georgina Born; Till Bovermann; et al.
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 3-8394-5287-2
Publication Date: 2021
By exploring the field of artistic research as a constantly transforming space for participatory and experimental artistic practices, this anthology points the way forward for researchers, artists and decision-makers inside and outside universities of the arts.

Performing Arts Staff Programme Publications

Division of Humanities

School of Performing Arts

Convenor for Performing Arts

Associate Professor Hillary Halba

(Journal Article)

Halba, H. (2015) "Poetry, Politics, the Past, and the Present: Interweaving Maori Postcolonial Theatre with Brecht in Kilimogo’s Production of Apirana Taylor’s Whaea Kairau: Mother Hundred Eater." Journal Of New Zealand and Pacific Studies, Vol. 3, No. 2, pp.133 – 148. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1386/nzps.3.2.133_1

Performing Arts Libraries

Performing Arts Libraries & Special Collections

National Institute of Dramatic Art

University of Bristol - Theatre Collection

Online Archive of California - Guide to the Dance Photograph Collection

H arvard Theatre Collection

S hubert Archive

Social Media

Social media

Creative Commons

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Musical Theatre

Pop with gods, Shakespeare, and AI : popular film, (musical) theatre, and TV drama by Iris Hsin-chun Tuan
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9789811572975
Publication Date: 2020
Iris Tuans book is wide-ranging in scope and diversity, examining theatre, music, film and television productions from both Western and Asian countries.
Cultural identity in British musical theatre, 1890-1939 : knowing one's place by Ben Macpherson
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9781137598073
Publication Date: 2018
Represents the first in-depth study of over forty works of British musical comedy (1890–1939) using the original play-texts.
Rock in the musical theatre : a guide for singers by Joseph Church 1957-
Call Number: Central : MT956 .C613 2019 (Book)
ISBN: 9780190943462
Publication Date: 2019
oday's musical theatre world rocks. Now that rock 'n' roll music and its offshoots, including pop, hard rock, rap, r&b, funk, folk, and world-pop music, are the standard language of musical theatre, theatre singers need a source of information on these styles, their origins, and their performance practices.
Acting in musical theatre : a comprehensive guide by Joe Deer; Rocco Dal Vera
Call Number: Central : MT956 .D44 2021 (Book)
ISBN: 9780367233280
Publication Date: 2021
Acting in Musical Theatre's chapters divide into easy-to-reference units, each containing group and solo exercises, making it the definitive textbook for students and practitioners alike.

Auditions

Successful singing auditions by Gillyanne Kayes; Jeremy Fisher
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 1-4725-3849-8
Publication Date: 2002
This guide covers assessing the potential auditioner's skills, analysing their voice, choosing and preparing appropriate songs, learning material in a hurry, and identifying their role within an audition.
An actor's guide to getting work by Simon Dunmore
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 1-283-47878-1
Publication Date: 2012
Essential reading for any young actor'' Dame Maggie Smith Competition for acting work is fierce and talent is not necessarily enough.
Auditioning for musical theatre by Denny Berry
Call Number: Central : MT956 .B47 2019 (Book)
ISBN: 9781138350304
Publication Date: 2019
Auditioning for Musical Theatre demystifies the process of giving the best possible professional audition for a role in a musical. It is the result of Denny Berry’s own experience, sitting "behind the audition desk" for 30 years of professional Broadway auditions.
The ultimate musical theater college audition guide : advice from the people who make the decisions by Amy Rogers Schwartzreich
Call Number: Central : MT956 .S4 2019 (Book)
ISBN: 9780190925055
Publication Date: 2019
In The Ultimate Musical Theatre College Audition Guide, author, acting teacher, and musical theatre program director Amy Rogers offers an honest, no-nonsense guide to the musical theatre audition.

Performing Arts: Books & eBooks

Performing Arts Resources