LibGuides: Newspapers: Library Newspapers

Newspapers

Finding Newspapers

The University Library provides access to thousands of newspaper titles, both current and historic, published across the world in many languages.

Use Library Search | Ketu to check if we hold a particular newspaper. Search for the "[Title of the newspaper]" (use quotation marks for more accuracy). We have digital access to many newspapers, and also hold some in print or on microfilm.

Featured Resources

Press Reader [Subscription digital library]
Press Reader as a whole has thousands of magazines & newspapers in more than 60 different languages. Presented as they are in print format to read on the web or via the Android and iOS apps.
ProQuest Newspapers [Full-text database]
Search and access these collections: Canadian Newsstream, International Newsstream, US Newstream and historical content for the Guardian, the Observer, the Irish Times, the Weekly Irish Times, the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, the Scotsman, and the Wall Street Journal.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 [Subscription Digital Library]
A searchable full-text archive of the Times (London) newspaper and its predecessor, the Daily Universal Register. The database contains facsimile images of every issue published since 1785, including articles, photographs, letters, and advertisements.
Newspaper Source Plus [Subscription full-text database]
Includes full-text newspapers as well as television and radio news transcripts.
Papers Past : Newspapers [Open digital library]

Digitised NZ and Pacific newspapers from the 19th and 20th centurieg, ranging from 1839 to 1950. Includes 170+ titles with over 1 million issues from all regions of New Zealand. Each newspaper has its own page containing information about the publication, including the date range which is available online. You can find links to all the newspapers on the Explore all newspapers page.

Newspaper Collections (browse geographically)

Highly Recommended Newspaper Databases

Explore the tabs (above) to find newspapers from a specific place or time period, or start with these recommended databases:

Economist: Historical Archive 1843-2012 (Gale Cengage)
A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2012. Covers international political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments. Includes full-colour images, financial tables, supplements, special reports and more.
Factiva
Access to a wide range of global news information content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Database Guide.
Gale Artemis: Primary Sources
Cross-search across many Gale platforms which contain newspapers (including 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century British Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, The Times Digital Archive and more).
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. Also features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts. Title list available here.
PressReader
A newspaper database providing access to the current issue (and up to a 90 day backfile) for over 3,000 titles worldwide. The newspapers replicate the print format.Database Guide
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Search and access these collections: ProQuest Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, Australia & New Zealand Newsstand, and historical content for the Guardian, the Observer, the Irish Times, the Weekly Irish Times, the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, the Scotsman, and the Wall Street Journal. Database Guide.

Highly Recommended Newspaper Websites

ABYZ News Links
Geographical directory containing links to newspapers websites. NOTE: this site does not contain any actual news content. It only contains links to news sources.
Google Books: Advanced Book Search
Digitised public domain books, newspapers and journals. You can limit by date range (e.g. 1837-1901 for the Victorian Era).
Google News Archive
Browse titles of historic newspapers digitised by Google. Use Google Search with the title to find results older than 30 days. see Archive Search Help for search tips.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A digital preservation repository and access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
Internet Archive: Newspapers
The newspapers in this collection have been scanned as part of a pilot project using microfilm and microfiche. After using a microfilm/fiche scanner to create a digital image of each page, the resulting images are processed so that each reel is contained in a single item with easily navigable files.

Library Databases providing access to American Newspapers

Factiva
Access to a wide range of global news information content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Database Guide.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides historical content for: The Los Angeles Times from 1881 - 24 years ago.
Database Guide.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides historical content for: The New York Times from 1851 - 4 years ago. Database Guide.
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. Also features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts. Titles include: USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC), The Philadelphia Inquirer, Star Tribune (Minneapolis). Title list available here.
PressReader
90-day backfile of over 1,000 newspapers from over 80 countries in 40 different languages. The newspapers are presented exactly as they are in print format and are available to read at the same time (often earlier) than the print. Database Guide
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Search and access these collections: ProQuest Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, Australia & New Zealand Newsstand, and historical content for the Guardian, the Observer, the Irish Times, the Weekly Irish Times, the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, the Scotsman, and the Wall Street Journal. Database Guide.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newpapers)
Provides historical content for: The Wall Street Journal from 1889 - 18 years ago.
Database Guide.

Free Websites providing access to American Newspapers

Brooklyn Newsstand
Free access to the full run of the Brooklyn Daily Eagle newspaper published from 1841-1955), as well as Brooklyn Life, a society magazine published 1890-1931.
Google Books: Advanced Book Search
Digitised public domain books, newspapers and journals. You can limit by date range (e.g. 1837-1901 for the Victorian Era).
Google News Archive
Browse titles of historic newspapers digitised by Google. Use Google Search with the title to find results older than 30 days. see Archive Search Help for search tips.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A digital preservation repository and access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press Collection
Documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections.
45 unique digital newspaper titles, including digital facsimilies of newspapers and trade journals in a variety of fields. Title list available here.
Internet Archive: Newspapers
The newspapers in this collection have been scanned as part of a pilot project using microfilm and microfiche. After using a microfilm/fiche scanner to create a digital image of each page, we process the resulting images so that each reel is contained in a single item with easily navigable files.
NY State Historic Newspapers
Free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.
Online Historical Newspapers
A directory listing newspapers by place, with links to online versions.
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project
Jewish newspapers published in Pittsburgh, from the 1890s to 2010. Includes: the Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), the American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), the Jewish Chronicle (1962-2010), and the Y-JCC series (1926-1975).

Library Databases providing access to New Zealand Newspapers

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre
Articles about current events, business, politics and more from New Zealand and Australian newspapers, magazines, reference books and more. Title list available here.
Factiva
Access to a wide range of global news information content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Database Guide.
Newztext
Archive of full-text articles from many key NZ news and business publications. Newztext is both a research tool and a long-term archive and is updated daily. Produced by The Knowledge Basket, with contributions from publishers.
PressReader
90 day newspaper backfile, including: The Dominion Post, The New Zealand Herald, The Press, Sunday Star Times, Waikato Times, The Southland Times, Taranaki Daily News, Manukau Courier, Taupo Times, Herald on Sunday...
ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstream
Provides access to many leading Australian and New Zealand newspapers.Database Guide.

Free Websites providing access to New Zealand Newspapers

Illustrated London News: New Zealand Content
Scanned images of the all the text and illustrations that refer to events in New Zealand during the first sixty years from volume 1 in 1842 to volume 121 in 1902.
Niupepa: Maori newspapers
Historic (1842-1932) newspapers published primarily for a Māori audience. Search (full text) or browse by series/date.
PapersPast
More than three million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers and periodicals. The collection covers the years 1839 to 1945 and includes 92 publications from all regions of New Zealand.

New Zealand Newspaper Indexes

These indexes are very useful for finding newspaper articles within NZ Newspapers. The article may not be available online, but you can use the reference and source information to track down a copy of the original article. Search Library Search | Ketu for the Source title to find print holdings

findNZarticles
Provides access to New Zealand content, including material by or about New Zealanders, from a range of New Zealand newspapers and journals.
Index New Zealand
Indexes the content of NZ and Pacific newspapers, magazines, and academic journals. Useful for finding articles on contemporary NZ and Pacific authors, that may only be available in print. Search Library Search | Ketu for the Source title to find print holdings.
New Zealand Index (Knowledge Basket)
An index of key New Zealand databases including: Index New Zealand, INZART, Woman's Weekly Index, Newspaper Index 1989-2003, Newzindex and the NZ Herald Classified Personals Index.

Library Databases providing access to Newspapers from the UK and Europe

Ancestry Library Edition: Newspapers
Includes the day-to-day diaries of community events and stories of both famous and ordinary people. Beyond much-sought obituaries, newspapers tell us about births, marriages, engagements, school, sports and organizational events, accounts of accidents, and what was going on in the local courts and more. Database Guide
British Library Newspapers
British Library Newspapers consists of two major collections from the British Library which span three hundred years of newspaper publishing in the U.K.—17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th Century Newspapers. The two collections combined contain nearly 3 million pages and 40 million articles.
Economist: Historical Archive 1843-2011 (Gale Cengage)
A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2011. Covers international political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments. Includes full-colour images, financial tables, supplements, special reports and more.
Eighteenth Century Journals Portal
Includes digitised 18th Century newspapers from several UK Libraries. There is minimal overlap with other similar resources (e.g. Early English Books Online (EEBO); 19th Century British Library Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) and The Burney Collection).
Factiva
Access to a wide range of global news information content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Database Guide.
Gale Artemis: Primary Sources
Cross-search across many Gale platforms which contain newspapers (including 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century British Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, The Times Digital Archive and more).
The Guardian and the Observer (ProQuest Historical Newpapers)
The complete digital archive of The Guardian, 1821 - 8 years ago, and The Observer, 1791 - 8 years ago.
Database Guide.
The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
The complete digital archive of The Irish Times (1859 - 4 years ago) and The Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958). Database Guide.
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. Also features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts. Titles include: USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC), The Philadelphia Inquirer, Star Tribune (Minneapolis). Title list available here.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)
Award winning collections of digitized archives, with newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and more.
PressReader
90-day backfile of over 1,000 newspapers from over 80 countries in 40 different languages. The newspapers are presented exactly as they are in print format and are available to read at the same time (often earlier) than the print. Database Guide
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Search and access these collections: ProQuest Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, Australia & New Zealand Newsstand, and historical content for the Guardian, the Observer, the Irish Times, the Weekly Irish Times, the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, the Scotsman, and the Wall Street Journal. Database Guide.
Scotsman (ProQuest Historical Newpapers)
The complete digital archive of The Scotsman from 1817-1950.
Database Guide.
Seventeenth-Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2010
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.

Free Websites providing access to Newspapers from the UK and Europe

Europeana Newspapers
Includes newspapers and newspaper clippings digitised by Europe's galleries, museums, libraries, archives and audiovisual collections.
The Gazette (includes London, Edinburgh and Belfast Gazettes)
A history of Britain since 1665. Search and access information from across each of the editions via one website. Guide.
Google Books: Advanced Book Search
Digitised public domain books, newspapers and journals. You can limit by date range (e.g. 1837-1901 for the Victorian Era).
Google News Archive
Browse titles of historic newspapers digitised by Google. Use Google Search with the title to find results older than 30 days. see Archive Search Help for search tips.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A digital preservation repository and access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
Internet Archive: Newspapers
The newspapers in this collection have been scanned as part of a pilot project using microfilm and microfiche. After using a microfilm/fiche scanner to create a digital image of each page, we process the resulting images so that each reel is contained in a single item with easily navigable files.
Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition (ncse)
A free, online edition of six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers, including: Monthly Repository (1806-1837) and Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833), Northern Star (1838-1852), Leader (1850-1860), English Woman’s Journal(1858-1864), Tomahawk (1867-1870), Publishers’ Circular (1880-1890).
Welsh Newspapers Online
Discover millions of articles from a rich collection of historical newspapers. Although some titles are in Welsh, most are English language.

Library Databases providing access to Asian News and Newspapers

eTV
Watch live or on demand NHK World for Asian and Japanese programmes.
Factiva
Access to a wide range of global news information content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Database Guide.
PressReader
90-day backfile of over 1,000 newspapers from over 80 countries in 40 different languages. The newspapers are presented exactly as they are in print format and are available to read at the same time (often earlier) than the print. Database Guide

Free Websites providing access to News for: China

People's Daily (人民日报) issued by People's Daily Group, a national voice of the Party
Beijing Daily (北京日报)
Guang Ming Daily (光明日报)
South China Morning Post

Free Websites providing access to News for: Hong Kong

Hong Kong online newspapers
(瞭望新闻周刊) - Official news weekly. Articles hosted in English at http://english.news.cn/

Free Websites providing access to News for: Japan

NHK News
The Japan Times
The Yomiuri Shimbun - Japan's largest newspaper
Mainichi Shinbun - The "Daily Newspaper" from Tokyo
Reuters - in Japanese
Japanese online newspapers

Free Websites providing access to News for: Singapore and Malaya

NewspaperSG
An online resource of current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers published between 1831-2009 digitised by the National Library of Singapore. Note: Articles are watermarked, and some are locked and can not be accessed online.