LibGuides: Newspapers: Library Newspapers

Finding Newspapers

The University Library provides access to thousands of newspaper titles, both current and historic, published across the world in many languages.

Use Library Search | Ketu to check if we hold a particular newspaper. Search for the "[Title of the newspaper]" (use quotation marks for more accuracy). We have digital access to many newspapers, and also hold some in print or on microfilm.

Newspaper Collections

Highly Recommended Newspaper Databases

Explore the tabs (above) to find newspapers from a specific place or time period, or start with these recommended databases:

Economist: Historical Archive 1843-2012 (Gale Cengage)
A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2012. Covers international political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments. Includes full-colour images, financial tables, supplements, special reports and more.
Factiva
Access to a wide range of global news information content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Database Guide.
Gale Artemis: Primary Sources
Cross-search across many Gale platforms which contain newspapers (including 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century British Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, The Times Digital Archive and more).
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. Also features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts. Title list available here.
PressReader
A newspaper database providing access to the current issue (and up to a 90 day backfile) for over 3,000 titles worldwide. The newspapers replicate the print format.Database Guide
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Search and access these collections: ProQuest Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, Australia & New Zealand Newsstand, and historical content for the Guardian, the Observer, the Irish Times, the Weekly Irish Times, the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, the Scotsman, and the Wall Street Journal. Database Guide.

Highly Recommended Newspaper Websites

ABYZ News Links
Geographical directory containing links to newspapers websites. NOTE: this site does not contain any actual news content. It only contains links to news sources.
Google Books: Advanced Book Search
Digitised public domain books, newspapers and journals. You can limit by date range (e.g. 1837-1901 for the Victorian Era).
Google News Archive
Browse titles of historic newspapers digitised by Google. Use Google Search with the title to find results older than 30 days. see Archive Search Help for search tips.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A digital preservation repository and access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
Internet Archive: Newspapers
The newspapers in this collection have been scanned as part of a pilot project using microfilm and microfiche. After using a microfilm/fiche scanner to create a digital image of each page, the resulting images are processed so that each reel is contained in a single item with easily navigable files.

Library Databases providing access to Scottish Newspapers

British Library Newspapers
Contains 70 newspapers selected by the British Library to provide a broad yet detailed view of British life in the 19th century. Includes daily and weekly newspapers, national and regional, as well as from Scotland, Ireland and Wales.
Scotsman (ProQuest Historical Newpapers)
The complete digital archive of The Scotsman from 1817-1950.
Database Guide.
Seventeenth-Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.

Free Websites providing access to Scottish Newspapers

Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine - v. 53 (1843) - v. 94 (1863)
Blackwood's Edinburgh magazine - Selected Full Text (some volumes are search-only, some volumes are missing). v.1 (Apr-Sep 1817) - v.178 (Jul-Dec 1905)
Bulletin - 50 issues. Jan 2, 1957 - Feb 28, 1957
Edinburgh Advertiser - 2,084 issues. Jul 14, 1772 - Dec 29, 1829
Edinburgh Chronicle - 3 issues. Oct 8, 1759 - Feb 25, 1760
Edinburgh Courant - 182 issues. Jan 1, 1884 - Dec 30, 1884
Edinburgh Evening Courant - 492 issues. Jan 1, 1867 - Sep 30, 1869
Edinburgh Gazette - 1699 - 1793 (starting and stopping often). 1793 - present
Edinburgh Weekly Journal - 279 issues. Jan 7, 1801 - Dec 21, 1808
Glasgow Advertiser - 549 issues. Jan 27, 1783 - Dec 18, 1801
Glasgow Herald - 42,868 issues. Jan 17, 1806 - Feb 17, 1990
Herald and Advertiser - 80 issues. Nov 8, 1802 - Dec 16, 1805

Scottish Newspaper Index

This index is very useful for finding newspaper articles within old Scottish Newspapers. The article may not be available here at Otago, but you can use the reference to request a free copy through the Get It Interloan Service (use the 'Create Request' option).

Am Baile Searchable Newspaper Index - A searchable database of stories and articles carried in the newspapers of the Highlands and Islands of Scotland. The database contains a short summary of each article and a reference to the issue in which the article was published. The newspapers available for searching are: The Inverness Journal (1807 - 1849), The Inverness Journal (1807 - 1849), The Inverness Advertiser (1849 - 1885), Scottish Highlander (1885 - 1898), Inverness Courier (1879, 1898 - 1901, 1920-1939), John O'Groat Journal (1836 - 1887), Gairm (1952 - 2002).

Library Databases providing access to Current Newspapers

PressReader
90-day backfile of over 1,000 newspapers from over 80 countries in 40 different languages. The newspapers are presented exactly as they are in print format and are available to read at the same time (often earlier) than the print. Database Guide

Free Websites providing access to Current Newspapers

ABYZ News Links
Geographical directory containing links to newspapers websites. NOTE: this site does not contain any actual news content. It only contains links to news sources.

Library Databases providing access to 21st Century Newspapers

Economist: Historical Archive 1843-2012 (Gale Cengage)
A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2012. Covers international political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments. Includes full-colour images, financial tables, supplements, special reports and more.
Factiva
Access to a wide range of global news information content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Database Guide.
PressReader
90-day backfile of over 1,000 newspapers from over 80 countries in 40 different languages. The newspapers are presented exactly as they are in print format and are available to read at the same time (often earlier) than the print. Database Guide
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Search and access these collections: ProQuest Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, Australia & New Zealand Newsstand. Database Guide.
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. Also features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts. Title list available here.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2010
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.

Free Websites providing access to 21st Century Newspapers

ABYZ News Links
Geographical directory containing links to newspapers websites. NOTE: this site does not contain any actual news content. It only contains links to news sources.
The Gazette (includes London, Edinburgh and Belfast Gazettes)
A history of Britain since 1665. Search and access information from across each of the editions via one website. Guide.

Library Databases providing access to 20th Century Newspapers

The Economist: Historical Archive 1843-2012 (Gale Cengage)
A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2012. Covers international political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments. Includes full-colour images, financial tables, supplements, special reports and more.
Factiva
Access to a wide range of global news information content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Database Guide.
The Guardian and the Observer (ProQuest Historical Newpapers)
The complete digital archive of The Guardian, 1821 - 8 years ago, and The Observer, 1791 - 8 years ago.
Database Guide.
The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
The complete digital archive of The Irish Times (1859 - 4 years ago) and The Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958). Database Guide.
The Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides historical content for: The Los Angeles Times from 1881 - 24 years ago.
Database Guide.
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. Also features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts. Title list available here.
The New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides historical content for: The New York Times from 1851 - 4 years ago. Database Guide.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Search and access these collections: ProQuest Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, Australia & New Zealand Newsstand, and historical newspapers. Database Guide.
The Scotsman (ProQuest Historical Newpapers)
The complete digital archive of The Scotsman from 1817-1950.
Database Guide.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2010
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
The Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newpapers)
Provides historical content for: The Wall Street Journal from 1889 - 18 years ago.
Database Guide.

Free Websites providing access to 20th Century Newspapers

The British Colonist
The leading paper for the province of British Columbia until the 1890s. This website contains all the issues from 1858 to December 1950 (also called The Daily British Colonist, the Daily Colonist, and other variants).
Chronicling America
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
The Gazette (includes London, Edinburgh and Belfast Gazettes)
A history of Britain since 1665. Search and access information from across each of the editions via one website. Guide.
Google Books: Advanced Book Search
Digitised public domain books, newspapers and journals. You can limit by date range (e.g. 1837-1901 for the Victorian Era).
Google News Archive
Browse titles of historic newspapers digitised by Google. Use Google Search with the title to find results older than 30 days. see Archive Search Help for search tips.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A digital preservation repository and access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press Collection
Documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Internet Archive: Newspapers
The newspapers in this collection have been scanned as part of a pilot project using microfilm and microfiche. After using a microfilm/fiche scanner to create a digital image of each page, we process the resulting images so that each reel is contained in a single item with easily navigable files.
Niupepa: Maori newspapers
Historic (1842-1932) newspapers published primarily for a Māori audience. Search (full text) or browse by series/date.
PapersPast
More than three million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers and periodicals. The collection covers the years 1839 to 1948 and includes 92 publications from all regions of New Zealand.
Trove
The Australian Newspaper Digitisation Program makes as many Australian newspapers as possible freely available online through Trove. There are currently over 700 newspapers, with more added daily. Title list available here.

Library Databases providing access to 19th Century Newspapers

British Library Newspapers
British Library Newspapers consists of two major collections from the British Library which span three hundred years of newspaper publishing in the U.K.—17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th Century Newspapers. The two collections combined contain nearly 3 million pages and 40 million articles.
Economist: Historical Archive 1843-2012 (Gale Cengage)
A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2012. Covers international political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments. Includes full-colour images, financial tables, supplements, special reports and more.
Gale Artemis: Primary Sources
Cross-search across Gale platforms, including: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century British Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, the Making of Modern Law, and The Times Digital Archive. Many of these collections contain digitised newspapers.
The Guardian and the Observer (ProQuest Historical Newpapers)
The complete digital archive of The Guardian, 1821 - 8 years ago, and The Observer, 1791 - 8 years ago.
Database Guide.
The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
The complete digital archive of The Irish Times (1859 - 4 years ago) and The Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958). Database Guide.
The Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides historical content for: The Los Angeles Times from 1881 - 24 years ago.
Database Guide.
The New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides historical content for: The New York Times from 1851 - 4 years ago. Database Guide.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)
Award winning collections of digitized archives, with newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and more.
The Scotsman (ProQuest Historical Newpapers)
The complete digital archive of The Scotsman from 1817-1950.
Database Guide.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2010
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
The Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newpapers)
Provides historical content for: The Wall Street Journal from 1889 - 18 years ago.
Database Guide.

Free Websites providing access to 19th Century Newspapers

The British Colonist
The leading paper for the province of British Columbia until the 1890s. This website contains all the issues from 1858 to December 1950 (also called The Daily British Colonist, the Daily Colonist, and other variants).
Chronicling America
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
The Gazette (includes London, Edinburgh and Belfast Gazettes)
A history of Britain since 1665. Search and access information from across each of the editions via one website. Guide.
Google Books: Advanced Book Search
Digitised public domain books, newspapers and journals. You can limit by date range (e.g. 1837-1901 for the Victorian Era).
Google News Archive
Browse titles of historic newspapers digitised by Google. Use Google Search with the title to find results older than 30 days. see Archive Search Help for search tips.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A digital preservation repository and access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press Collection
Documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Internet Archive: Newspapers
The newspapers in this collection have been scanned as part of a pilot project using microfilm and microfiche. After using a microfilm/fiche scanner to create a digital image of each page, we process the resulting images so that each reel is contained in a single item with easily navigable files.
Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition (ncse)
A free, online edition of six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers, including: Monthly Repository (1806-1837) and Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833), Northern Star (1838-1852), Leader (1850-1860), English Woman’s Journal(1858-1864), Tomahawk (1867-1870), Publishers’ Circular (1880-1890).
Niupepa: Maori newspapers
Historic (1842-1932) newspapers published primarily for a Māori audience. Search (full text) or browse by series/date.
PapersPast
More than three million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers and periodicals. The collection covers the years 1839 to 1945 and includes 92 publications from all regions of New Zealand.
Trove
The Australian Newspaper Digitisation Program makes as many Australian newspapers as possible freely available online through Trove. There are currently over 700 newspapers, with more added daily. Title list available here.

Library Databases providing access to 18th Century Newspapers

British Library Newspapers
British Library Newspapers consists of two major collections from the British Library which span three hundred years of newspaper publishing in the U.K.—17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th Century Newspapers. The two collections combined contain nearly 3 million pages and 40 million articles.
ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Full text of every significant title printed in the UK, plus important works from the Americas, published between 1701 and 1800.
Eighteenth Century Journals Portal
Includes digitised 18th Century newspapers from several UK Libraries. There is minimal overlap with other similar resources (e.g. Early English Books Online (EEBO); 19th Century British Library Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) and The Burney Collection).
Gale Artemis: Primary Sources
Cross-search across Gale platforms, including: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century British Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, the Making of Modern Law, and The Times Digital Archive. Many of these collections contain digitised newspapers.
The Observer (1791-1900)
Available from ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian and The Observer.
Seventeenth-Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2010
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.

Free Websites providing access to 18th Century Newspapers

The Gazette (includes London, Edinburgh and Belfast Gazettes)
A history of Britain since 1665. Search and access information from across each of the editions via one website. Guide.
Google Books: Advanced Book Search
Digitised public domain books, newspapers and journals. You can limit by date range (e.g. 1700-1799 for the 18th Century).
Google News Archive
Browse titles of historic newspapers digitised by Google. Use Google Search with the title to find results older than 30 days. see Archive Search Help for search tips.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A digital preservation repository and access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.

Library Databases providing access to 17th Century Newspapers

British Library Newspapers
British Library Newspapers consists of two major collections from the British Library which span three hundred years of newspaper publishing in the U.K.—17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th Century Newspapers. The two collections combined contain nearly 3 million pages and 40 million articles.
Seventeenth-Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.

Free Websites providing access to 17th Century Newspapers

The Gazette (includes London, Edinburgh and Belfast Gazettes)
A history of Britain since 1665. Search and access information from across each of the editions via one website. Guide.

Library Databases providing access to American Newspapers

Factiva
Access to a wide range of global news information content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Database Guide.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides historical content for: The Los Angeles Times from 1881 - 24 years ago.
Database Guide.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides historical content for: The New York Times from 1851 - 4 years ago. Database Guide.
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. Also features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts. Titles include: USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC), The Philadelphia Inquirer, Star Tribune (Minneapolis). Title list available here.
PressReader
90-day backfile of over 1,000 newspapers from over 80 countries in 40 different languages. The newspapers are presented exactly as they are in print format and are available to read at the same time (often earlier) than the print. Database Guide
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Search and access these collections: ProQuest Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, Australia & New Zealand Newsstand, and historical content for the Guardian, the Observer, the Irish Times, the Weekly Irish Times, the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, the Scotsman, and the Wall Street Journal. Database Guide.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newpapers)
Provides historical content for: The Wall Street Journal from 1889 - 18 years ago.
Database Guide.

Free Websites providing access to American Newspapers

Brooklyn Newsstand
Free access to the full run of the Brooklyn Daily Eagle newspaper published from 1841-1955), as well as Brooklyn Life, a society magazine published 1890-1931.
Chronicling America
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Or explore content with the Bookworm.
Digital Library of Georgia Newspapers
Several Historic Newspapers online.
Google Books: Advanced Book Search
Digitised public domain books, newspapers and journals. You can limit by date range (e.g. 1837-1901 for the Victorian Era).
Google News Archive
Browse titles of historic newspapers digitised by Google. Use Google Search with the title to find results older than 30 days. see Archive Search Help for search tips.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A digital preservation repository and access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
Historical Newspapers Online
Lists hundreds of publicly available historic American newspapers from the 18th through the 20th centuries.
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press Collection
Documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections.
45 unique digital newspaper titles, including digital facsimilies of newspapers and trade journals in a variety of fields. Title list available here.
Internet Archive: Newspapers
The newspapers in this collection have been scanned as part of a pilot project using microfilm and microfiche. After using a microfilm/fiche scanner to create a digital image of each page, we process the resulting images so that each reel is contained in a single item with easily navigable files.
NY State Historic Newspapers
Free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.
Online Historical Newspapers
A directory listing newspapers by place, with links to online versions.
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project
Jewish newspapers published in Pittsburgh, from the 1890s to 2010. Includes: the Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), the American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), the Jewish Chronicle (1962-2010), and the Y-JCC series (1926-1975).

Library Databases providing access to Spanish News and Newspapers

Factiva
Access to a wide range of global news information content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Database Guide.
PressReader
90-day backfile of over 1,000 newspapers from over 80 countries in 40 different languages. The newspapers are presented exactly as they are in print format and are available to read at the same time (often earlier) than the print. Database Guide

Free Websites providing access to Spanish News and Newspapers

Europeana Newspapers
Includes newspapers and newspaper clippings digitised by Europe's galleries, museums, libraries, archives and audiovisual collections.

Iberian Newspapers Link to latest Spanish news sources from newspapers, magazines and TV.

Newspapers & Magazines

ABC
De Viajes
Diariopyme, El Primer Diario de la Pequeña y Mediana Empresa
El Clarin - Diario de la capital
El Mercurio - Publicación informativa de la capital
El Mundo
El Pais
El Punto de las Artes
El Semanal Digital La Nación - Diario, edición electrónica
La Tercera - Diario de la capital
Qué pasa (What happens)
Zona Latina - Latina American Newspapers
English language newspapers in Latin America

Television

Canal13 - Reportajes, noticias y programación de este canal. Access with RealPlayer (real.com)
Televisa - Reportajes y programación. Access with RealPlayer (real.com)
Televisión Nacional - Canal público con la misión de informar, educar y entretener. Access with RealPlayer (real.com)
eTV - login as an Otago student then watch live or on demand TVE in Spanish.

Library Databases providing access to Irish Newspapers

Factiva
Access to recent issues from a wide range of Irish newspapers.Database Guide.
PressReader
Access issues from the last 3 months of several Irish Newspapers, including: Carlow People, Drogheda Independent, Enniscorthy Guardian, Fingal Independent, Gorey Guardian, Irish Daily Mail, Irish Independent, Life Magazine, Mothers & Babies, New Ross Standard, Sunday Independent (Ireland), The Argus, The Corkman, The Irish Mail on Sunday, The Irish Times, The Kerryman (North Kerry), The Kerryman (South Kerry Edition), The Kerryman (Tralee Edition), The Sligo Champion, The Wall Street Journal Europe, Wexford People, Wicklow People. Database Guide
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Includes a wide range of Irish Newspapers Database Guide.
The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
The complete digital archive of The Irish Times (1859 - 4 years ago) and The Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958). Database Guide.

Free Websites providing access to Irish Newspapers

Irish Newspapers Online - Lists and links to current Irish newspaper websites.
National Library of Ireland: Newspaper Database - This database is a listing of newspaper titles held in the National Library of Ireland, including information on the latest date available of current titles.
Online Newspapers: Ireland Newspapers - Lists and links to current Irish newspaper websites.
Waterford County Library Digital Newspaper Archive - Includes pages from several local newspapers that can be downloaded as .tiff images, including: Dungarvan Leader 1958-1997 (incomplete), Waterford Chronicle 1804-1872 (incomplete), Waterford Mirror 1803-1869 (incomplete), Waterford Mail 1824-1895 (incomplete), Munster Express 1894-1920 (incomplete)

Newspapers for the Irish Living Abroad

Current

Irish Champion - Your Irish newspaper in New Zealand.
Irish Emigrant - News for the Global Irish Community.
Irish Echo - Australia's Irish Newspaper.
Irish Newspapers Online - Lists and links to Irish newspaper websites.
Online Newspapers: Ireland Newspapers - Lists and links to Irish newspaper websites.
Irish Voice - Online Newspaper founded by Niall O'Dowd.

Historic

Irish Canadian - Jan 21, 1863 - Dec 29, 1892. This weekly was founded by Patrick Boyle, to demand equal rights and opportunities for Irish Catholics. It also supported protective tariffs and Irish Home Rule.
Irish Sentinal - Feb 7, 1872 - Jul 18, 1872. Newspaper for Quebec’s Irish Catholics.
Irish Vindicator - Dec 16, 1823 - Dec 30, 1831. A newspaper based in Montreal aimed at the immigrant Irish community.
New Era - May 25, 1857 - May 13, 1858. Irish nationalist newspaper started by Thomas D'Arcy McGee in Montreal in 1857.

Irish Newspaper Indexes

Belfast Newsletter Index - Index for this Irish newspaper that began publication in Belfast in 1737 and was published thrice-weekly during the 18th century, in issues of four pages each. During its time, the Newsletter was seldom equalled in the breadth and quality of its coverage of local and international events.
Irish Newspaper Archive - Free to search. Although Otago does do not have a subscription to this database, you can request full-text copies of specific newspaper articles for free through the Library's Get It Interloan Service.

Library Databases providing access to New Zealand Newspapers

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre
Articles about current events, business, politics and more from New Zealand and Australian newspapers, magazines, reference books and more. Title list available here.
Factiva
Access to a wide range of global news information content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Database Guide.
Newztext
Archive of full-text articles from many key NZ news and business publications. Newztext is both a research tool and a long-term archive and is updated daily. Produced by The Knowledge Basket, with contributions from publishers.
PressReader
90 day newspaper backfile, including: The Dominion Post, The New Zealand Herald, The Press, Sunday Star Times, Waikato Times, The Southland Times, Taranaki Daily News, Manukau Courier, Taupo Times, Herald on Sunday...
ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstream
Provides access to many leading Australian and New Zealand newspapers.Database Guide.

Free Websites providing access to New Zealand Newspapers

Illustrated London News: New Zealand Content
Scanned images of the all the text and illustrations that refer to events in New Zealand during the first sixty years from volume 1 in 1842 to volume 121 in 1902.
Niupepa: Maori newspapers
Historic (1842-1932) newspapers published primarily for a Māori audience. Search (full text) or browse by series/date.
PapersPast
More than three million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers and periodicals. The collection covers the years 1839 to 1945 and includes 92 publications from all regions of New Zealand.

New Zealand Newspaper Indexes

These indexes are very useful for finding newspaper articles within NZ Newspapers. The article may not be available online, but you can use the reference and source information to track down a copy of the original article. Search Library Search | Ketu for the Source title to find print holdings

findNZarticles
Provides access to New Zealand content, including material by or about New Zealanders, from a range of New Zealand newspapers and journals.
Index New Zealand
Indexes the content of NZ and Pacific newspapers, magazines, and academic journals. Useful for finding articles on contemporary NZ and Pacific authors, that may only be available in print. Search Library Search | Ketu for the Source title to find print holdings.
New Zealand Index
An index of key New Zealand databases including: Index New Zealand, INZART, Woman's Weekly Index, Newspaper Index 1989-2003, Newzindex and the NZ Herald Classified Personals Index.
New Zealand Newspaper Archives & Indexes
Maintained by Christchurch City Libraries, this list of newspaper indexes includes many links to newspaper indexes for specific cities and regions.

Library Databases providing access to German News and Newspapers

eTV
Watch live or on demand Deutsche Welle.
Factiva
Access to a wide range of global news information content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Database Guide.
PressReader
90-day backfile of over 1,000 newspapers from over 80 countries in 40 different languages. The newspapers are presented exactly as they are in print format and are available to read at the same time (often earlier) than the print. Database Guide

Free Websites providing access to German News and Newspapers

Europeana Newspapers
Includes newspapers and newspaper clippings digitised by Europe's galleries, museums, libraries, archives and audiovisual collections.

Daily German newspapers e.g. Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung and in English (www.faz.com)
German TV stations - Streaming video
Deutsche Welle WWW - German news in English; live audio and video

Library Databases providing access to French News and Newspapers

eTV
Watch live or on demand French24 and TVMonde.
Factiva
Access to a wide range of global news information content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Database Guide.
PressReader
90-day backfile of over 1,000 newspapers from over 80 countries in 40 different languages. The newspapers are presented exactly as they are in print format and are available to read at the same time (often earlier) than the print. Database Guide

Free Websites providing access to French News and Newspapers

Europeana Newspapers
Includes newspapers and newspaper clippings digitised by Europe's galleries, museums, libraries, archives and audiovisual collections.

Radio France - Listen live or download podcasts from the seven French national stations.
Le Figaro - The oldest of France's daily newspapers. Considered by many to represent a conservative position.
Liberation - Founded in 1973 by Jean Paul Sartre and other leftists, this daily newspaper has moved to a more centrist position since its founding.
Le Monde - Founded in 1944, Le Monde represents the "establishment" position. It is the most widely-read French daily newspaper, outside of France.
France24 - continuous news, debates, special interest. View and read in French
France 2 - Daily news and more from this French T.V. company
Photo - A monthly French photo magazine.
La Recherche - France's most well-known monthly science magazine.
La Revue du Spectacle - French theatre, humour and song.
TF1Online - Daily news and more from this French T.V. company.
French Newspapers - Link to latest news sources from papers and TV.
Google Actualité - 500 sources d'information mises à jour en continu.

Library Databases providing access to Newspapers from the UK and Europe

Ancestry Library Edition: Newspapers
Includes the day-to-day diaries of community events and stories of both famous and ordinary people. Beyond much-sought obituaries, newspapers tell us about births, marriages, engagements, school, sports and organizational events, accounts of accidents, and what was going on in the local courts and more. Database Guide
British Library Newspapers
British Library Newspapers consists of two major collections from the British Library which span three hundred years of newspaper publishing in the U.K.—17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th Century Newspapers. The two collections combined contain nearly 3 million pages and 40 million articles.
Economist: Historical Archive 1843-2011 (Gale Cengage)
A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2011. Covers international political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments. Includes full-colour images, financial tables, supplements, special reports and more.
Eighteenth Century Journals Portal
Includes digitised 18th Century newspapers from several UK Libraries. There is minimal overlap with other similar resources (e.g. Early English Books Online (EEBO); 19th Century British Library Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) and The Burney Collection).
Factiva
Access to a wide range of global news information content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Database Guide.
Gale Artemis: Primary Sources
Cross-search across many Gale platforms which contain newspapers (including 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century British Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, The Times Digital Archive and more).
The Guardian and the Observer (ProQuest Historical Newpapers)
The complete digital archive of The Guardian, 1821 - 8 years ago, and The Observer, 1791 - 8 years ago.
Database Guide.
The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
The complete digital archive of The Irish Times (1859 - 4 years ago) and The Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958). Database Guide.
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. Also features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts. Titles include: USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC), The Philadelphia Inquirer, Star Tribune (Minneapolis). Title list available here.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)
Award winning collections of digitized archives, with newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and more.
PressReader
90-day backfile of over 1,000 newspapers from over 80 countries in 40 different languages. The newspapers are presented exactly as they are in print format and are available to read at the same time (often earlier) than the print. Database Guide
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Search and access these collections: ProQuest Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, Australia & New Zealand Newsstand, and historical content for the Guardian, the Observer, the Irish Times, the Weekly Irish Times, the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, the Scotsman, and the Wall Street Journal. Database Guide.
Scotsman (ProQuest Historical Newpapers)
The complete digital archive of The Scotsman from 1817-1950.
Database Guide.
Seventeenth-Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2010
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.

Free Websites providing access to Newspapers from the UK and Europe

Europeana Newspapers
Includes newspapers and newspaper clippings digitised by Europe's galleries, museums, libraries, archives and audiovisual collections.
The Gazette (includes London, Edinburgh and Belfast Gazettes)
A history of Britain since 1665. Search and access information from across each of the editions via one website. Guide.
Google Books: Advanced Book Search
Digitised public domain books, newspapers and journals. You can limit by date range (e.g. 1837-1901 for the Victorian Era).
Google News Archive
Browse titles of historic newspapers digitised by Google. Use Google Search with the title to find results older than 30 days. see Archive Search Help for search tips.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A digital preservation repository and access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
Internet Archive: Newspapers
The newspapers in this collection have been scanned as part of a pilot project using microfilm and microfiche. After using a microfilm/fiche scanner to create a digital image of each page, we process the resulting images so that each reel is contained in a single item with easily navigable files.
Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition (ncse)
A free, online edition of six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers, including: Monthly Repository (1806-1837) and Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833), Northern Star (1838-1852), Leader (1850-1860), English Woman’s Journal(1858-1864), Tomahawk (1867-1870), Publishers’ Circular (1880-1890).
Welsh Newspapers Online
Discover millions of articles from a rich collection of historical newspapers. Although some titles are in Welsh, most are English language.

Library Databases providing access to Australian Newspapers

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre
Articles about current events, business, politics and more from New Zealand and Australian newspapers, magazines, reference books and more. Title list available here.
Factiva
Access to a wide range of global news information content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Database Guide.
PressReader
90-day backfile of over 1,000 newspapers from over 80 countries in 40 different languages. The newspapers are presented exactly as they are in print format and are available to read at the same time (often earlier) than the print. Database Guide
ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstream
Provides access to leading Australian newspapers, including: The Australian, The Weekend Australian, The Courier-Mail, The Daily Telegraph, The Advertiser, The Herald-Sun, The Mercury, The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald, The Sun-Herald, The Illawarra Mercury, The Newcastle Herald, The Central Coast Herald and more. Database Guide.

Free Websites providing access to Australian Newspapers

Australian Periodical Publications 1840-1845
Provides online access to and preservation of selected titles. A title list is available here.
Google Books: Advanced Book Search
Digitised public domain books, newspapers and journals. You can limit by date range (e.g. 1837-1901 for the Victorian Era).
Google News Archive
Browse titles of historic newspapers digitised by Google. Use Google Search with the title to find results older than 30 days. see Archive Search Help for search tips.
The Koori Mail Online Collection
Digital collection of 20 years of the Koori Mail – Australia’s fortnightly national Indigenous newspaper.
News Store (Fairfax Online Archive)
Fairfax online archive News Store is freely available online. Coverage goes back to approximately 1986. Some Fairfax business titles are not available via the archive, which also excludes photographs and images.
The Tasmanian Mail
July 7, 1877 to March 31, 1921. A weekly journal for Tasmania of politics, literature, science, agriculture, news and notes. The newspaper includes illustrations from 1888 to 1921.
Trove
The Australian Newspaper Digitisation Program makes as many Australian newspapers as possible freely available online through Trove. There are currently over 700 newspapers, with more added daily. Title list available here.

Library Databases providing access to Asian News and Newspapers

eTV
Watch live or on demand NHK World for Asian and Japanese programmes.
Factiva
Access to a wide range of global news information content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Database Guide.
PressReader
90-day backfile of over 1,000 newspapers from over 80 countries in 40 different languages. The newspapers are presented exactly as they are in print format and are available to read at the same time (often earlier) than the print. Database Guide

Free Websites providing access to Asian News and Newspapers

Asian Observer
Baidu - search for Asian videos of news, movies, TV drama, sports and concert music.
BBC News - South Asia
Hong guan bao = Macroview Weekly - Weekly Taiwanese newspaper.
Online Asian newspapers - Choose your country and paper.
Time - Asian magazine articles.
Xinxilan xin bao = The New Zealand Messenger - Biweekly NZ Community newspaper in Chinese - at Hocken 2003-

Free Websites providing access to News for: China

China Daily People's Daily (人民日报) issued by People's Daily Group, a national voice of the Party
Beijing Daily (北京日报)
Guang Ming Daily (光明日报)
China on TV (via US) South China Morning Post

Free Websites providing access to News for: Hong Kong

Hong Kong online newspapers
Outlook (瞭望新闻周刊) - Official news weekly. Articles hosted in English at http://english.news.cn/

Free Websites providing access to News for: Japan

NHK News
The Japan News - by Yomiuri Shimbun
The Japan Times
The Yomiuri Shimbun - Japan's largest newspaper
Mainichi Shinbun - The "Daily Newspaper" from Tokyo
Reuters - in Japanese
Japanese online newspapers

Free Websites providing access to News for: Singapore and Malaya

NewspaperSG
An online resource of current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers published between 1831-2009 digitised by the National Library of Singapore. Note: Articles are watermarked, and some are locked and can not be accessed online.

Featured Resources

Press Reader [Subscription digital library]
Press Reader as a whole has thousands of magazines & newspapers in more than 60 different languages. Presented as they are in print format to read on the web or via the Android and iOS apps.
ProQuest Newspapers [Full-text database]
Search and access these collections: Canadian Newsstream, International Newsstream, US Newstream and historical content for the Guardian, the Observer, the Irish Times, the Weekly Irish Times, the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, the Scotsman, and the Wall Street Journal.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 [Subscription Digital Library]
A searchable full-text archive of the Times (London) newspaper and its predecessor, the Daily Universal Register. The database contains facsimile images of every issue published since 1785, including articles, photographs, letters, and advertisements.
Newspaper Source Plus [Subscription full-text database]
Includes full-text newspapers as well as television and radio news transcripts.
Papers Past : Newspapers [Open digital library]

Digitised NZ and Pacific newspapers from the 19th and 20th centurieg, ranging from 1839 to 1950. Includes 170+ titles with over 1 million issues from all regions of New Zealand. Each newspaper has its own page containing information about the publication, including the date range which is available online. You can find links to all the newspapers on the Explore all newspapers page.