LibGuides: Scottish Studies: Primary Sources

Scottish Handwriting Tutorial

Scottish Handwriting Tutorial
This online tutorial will help you learn to read the handwriting in Scottish historical documents.

Digitised Scottish Primary Sources

Websites with free access to digitised sources.

Aberdeen Harbour Board Collection
Collection of photographs from the University of Aberdeen depicting the history of the port.
Best Scottish Poems
An online selection of twenty of the best poems by Scottish authors to appear in books, pamphlets and literary magazines each year.
British History Online: Scotland
Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the 32 historic counties of Scotland.
Glasgow Digital Library
A variety of digitized resources depicting the history of Glasgow.

National Archives Image Library This link opens in a new window
An eclectic choice of unusual and often unique images from the National Archives'.

Records of the Parliaments of Scotland to 1707 (RPS)
Proceedings of the Scottish parliament from the first surviving act of 1235 to the union of 1707.
Scottish Screen Archive
Digitised films reflecting Scotland's history and culture. Around 1,000 short clips are available online.
Statistical Accounts of Scotland
Digitized versions of the 1791-1799 and 1834-1845 statistical accounts, based on parish records.
The Word on the Street
Searchable collection of more than 1800 Scottish broadsides.
Timothy Pont's Maps
Manuscript maps created by Timothy Pont in the 1580s and 1590s.
University of St. Andrews Photographic Archive
Thousands of images from the collection of St. Andrews.
Virtual Mitchell: Images of Glasgow
Collection of historic photographs despicting Glasgow by the Mitchell public library of Glasgow.
Digital Archive
Images of items from the National Library of Scotland. Includes complete books, printed texts, photographs, posters, maps and drawings.

Scottish Primary Source Databases

These databases are freely available online:

National Archives This link opens in a new window
The UK government's official archive, containing over 1,000 years of history. They provide detailed guidance to government departments and the public sector on information management and advise others about the care of historical archives.
National Archives Discovery Search This link opens in a new window
Discover over 11 million records created by central government and the courts of law of England and Wales.

National Library of Scotland
The National Library of Scotland is the world's leading centre for the study of Scotland and the Scots. A major European research library, with collections of world-class importance. Many collection items are online.
National Register of Archives for Scotland
A record of papers of historical significance in private hands in Scotland. The Register contains over 4,200 surveys of private papers including the records of landed estates, private individuals, businesses, law firms and societies.
Paradox of Medieval Scotland 1093-1286 - Social Relationships and Identities before the Wars of Independence
This project has investigated how a recognisably modern Scottish identity was formed during the period 1093-1286. It provides biographical information about all known people in Scotland between 1093 and 1286.
Scottish Archive Network (SCAN)
A single electronic catalogue to the holdings of more than 50 Scottish archives.
Scottish Archives Network Knowledge Base
A database of answers to questions frequently asked in Scottish archives, combined with a directory of where to find historical records - arranged geographically.
Scottish Economic History Database, 1550-1780
Online database produced to further the dissemination of data collected during a project on Scottish wages and prices, 1550 -1780.
Scottish Register of Tartans
Contains thousands of tartan designs, which are free for you to search and reference.
Survey of Scottish Witchcraft
A database of nearly 4,000 people known to have been accused of witchcraft in early modern Scotland. Includes details about where/when they were accused, how they were tried and their fate.