Sustainability: Books & eBooks

The relationship between human communities and the environment is extremely complex. In order to resolve the issues involved with this relationship, interdisciplinary research combining natural sciences, social sciences, and humanities is necessary.

This book systematically surveys the key concepts, models, and findings of the various scientific disciplines with respect to the major sustainability issues: energy, nature, agro-food and resource systems, and economic growth.

This handbook introduces concepts, ideas and methods of sustainability research based on real examples. It is divided into four sections. Theoretical aspects of sustainability, practical approaches to sustainability research, education for sustainability and conclusions based on the body of experiences and knowledge gathered by the authors.

This book provides a systematic and critical review of the key research methods used when studying sustainable strategies and outcomes.

This handbook brings innovative, free-thinking, and radical approaches to research methods in environmental law.

The four specific areas covered are: increasing the sustainability of cities, improving governance for sustainability, transitioning to more sustainable economies and encouraging sustainable living.

This open-access book explores creative and collaborative research methods within the social sustainability sciences.

This volume provides a scholarly and accessible overview of key methods and approaches in metropolitan research from a uniquely broad range of disciplines.

The First Edition of the Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change provided a multi-authored, academic yet non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of global warming, to appreciate the effects of human activity and greenhouse gases around the world, and to learn the history of climate change.

The (ESST) provides unprecedented, peer-reviewed coverage in more than 550 separate entries comprising 38 topical sections. ESST establishes a foundation for the many sustainability and policy evaluations being performed in institutions worldwide.

"The Encyclopedia of Biotechnology in Agriculture and Food" provides users with unprecedented access to nearly 200 entries that cover the entire food system, describing the concepts and processes that are used in the production of raw agricultural materials and food product manufacturing.

The editor-in-chief, Cutler Cleveland, and his international team of associate editors have brought together approximately 400 authors to produce the Encyclopedia of Energy. This highly topical reference draws together all aspects of energy, covering a wealth of areas throughout the natural, social and engineering sciences.

This book presents a holistic view of climate change by examining a number of energy and transportation technologies and their impact on the climate.

In addressing climate modelling as a rich and consistently developing field, the book will demonstrate its power as a tool for revealing the mysteries of climate, one of the most complicated pieces of our planetary system, and its potential to teach us even more in the coming decades.

The book also explains why smart greenhouse-gas reduction strategies will ignite economic growth, generate new domestic jobs, protect public health, and strengthen energy security.

This book is intended to introduce the reader to examples of the range of practical problems posed by "Global Warming". It includes 11 chapters split into 5 sections.

This superb and highly-acclaimed dictionary includes over 4000 in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology, associated with environmental protection and resource management. In addition, it contains numerous illustrations, a wide range of international case studies and extensive cross-references to guide the reader.

An introductory essay frames the major issues in GEG and outlines the pitfalls of talking past one another when discussing the most critical of issues facing the planet.

This dictionary gives professionals and laymen alike, across the multi-disciplinary fields of energy, a tool to better understand and communicate energy matters and understand the energy issues and opportunities faced.

A dictionary which includes key terms associated with fossil- and nuclear-fuelled energy systems, renewable energy sources such as solar thermal, bioenergy, tidal power and wind power, and energy costings.