Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To find multimedia content using Library Search | Ketu
You can use Library Search to search for multimedia including images, photographs, video, audio and musical recordings. Just enter your topic into the search box on the main Library page www.otago.ac.nz/library/index.html. Use Tweak My Results to restrict your search results to multimedia content Types e.g. Images or Audio visual
The boxes below provide more information about specific content providers, in video or still image formats.
University Library multimedia resources
The University subscribes to several multimedia collections. View this current list. Some that have health sciences content include:
Academic Video Online: Premium
This a multidisciplinary collection of videos from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy presents more than 300 3D rotational gross anatomy videos featuring real cadaver specimens. The specimens have not been embalmed and therefore retain the colour, texture and mobility of the living body.
ClinicalKey is designed to provide physicians with fast, clinically-relevant answers from Elsevier’s enormous library of proprietary medical and surgical content including over 1,100 books, 500 journals (including The Clinics of North America), thousands of videos, practice guidelines, drug information and patient education handouts, along with millions of images.
ClinicalKey also gives physicians access to trusted point-of-care content from First Consult.
Counseling & Therapy (Alexander Street Press)
A collection of videos for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Study, observe, and experience a wide variety of different therapy and counseling methods and approaches as practiced by experts in their field.
Dental Education in Video (Alexander Street)
A video encyclopedia of dentistry and dental technique, providing access to high-definition videos featuring demonstrations, interviews, and lectures, for students and faculty in dental surgery, medicine, oral hygiene, assisting, and nursing.
e-Anatomy: The Interactive Atlas of Human Anatomy
Atlas of human anatomy: cross-sectional anatomy, gross anatomy, radiological anatomy. Provides medical imaging and pictures of head and neck, thorax abdomen and pelvis, limbs, and spine.
Provides programmes recorded off-air from domestic and international television channels and Internet channels. First-time users must register for an ongoing username/password: select University of Otago; use University staff or student email address (otago.ac.nz) only; username/password will be sent to your email. Note: Use Chrome for all eTV functionality.
Health Sciences (Alexander Street)
A collection of videos from practitioners, teachers, and researchers in a wide array of health fields - including dentistry, nursing, rehabilitation therapy, sports medicine and exercise science, and veterinary science.
JoVE Biology Collection
The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is an online journal publishing visualized (video-based) biological research studies. The Biology collection includes the following sections: General, Neuroscience, Immunology & Infection, Clinical & Translational Medicine, and Behavior.
Kanopy is a streaming service that provides access to video content from leading distributors.
Psychology & Counseling (Alexander Street)
A collection of videos and text resources that cover a vast range of client issues such as addiction, autism, depression, grief, obsessive compulsive disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, and suicide. It also highlights the psychology behind human behaviour with studies on conformity, power, obedience, responsibility, aggression, and conditioning.
Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video (Alexander Street)
A video collection in the areas of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and more.
Google image search
Google is a wonderfully rich source of images. However, most of the images found on Google are copyright-restricted. To find images that can be used without breaching copyright, search Google (above) for your chosen topic, then click the Images link, then Tools, Usage Rights and select an appropriate filter:
Please remember to attribute (reference) your image source.
Clinical Key and Ovid (see below) are sources of biomedical images. However some of the following sources provide access to copyright free or CC licensed images.
ClinicalKey image search
ClinicalKey (from Elsevier) contains over 1200 medical textbooks and 600 journals in electronic format, including all the images contained in these sources. These images can be downloaded to PowerPoint for use in teaching presentations.
To make presentations, you will need to create a personal account with Elsevier: click on the Register button on the ClinicalKey landing page and complete the form (You will need to fill in this form on-campus, from a University network-enabled computer, only once). You can then log in from any computer (including off-campus).
There is a guide which explains how to make use of this powerful feature, available below.
Ovid multimedia search
Ovid has introduced multimedia functionality to the OvidSP database platform. Videos and images from a range of books and Lippincott Williams & Wilkins journals are available for searching together with Ovid databases.
- Include Multimedia Checkbox - allows you to choose whether or not to include Multimedia as part of your search (but not at the same time as Map Term to Subject Heading)
- Removal of Thumbnails from Initial Search- you will no longer see thumbnails within your initial search results, but will have easy access to all results by clicking on the Multimedia results banner
- Improved View By Results Toggle - shows you how many Text and Multimedia search results get returned