Criminology: Legal
Law Librarian
Kate Thompson
Law Librarian
Subjects: Asian Studies, Department of Languages and Culture, French, German, Global studies, Higher Education, Law, Spanish
Statutes and Cases
Listed below are freely available sources to law.
- Legislation New ZealandThis website provides Acts, Bills, Legislative Instruments, and Supplementary Order Papers, and links to Other Instruments.
- NZLII legislationFree. Includes legislation as enacted from 1841.
- NZLII case law This link opens in a new windowFree. Includes most NZ courts and tribunals: selected content from District, Youth and Family Courts.
For advanced legal research try
- Lexis Advance This link opens in a new windowAccess to legislation, case law and commentary on a wide range of legal topics.
Books and Articles
- Library Search | Ketu This link opens in a new windowUse broad terms to find texts, e.g. criminal law zealand.
Use narrower terms to find articles, e.g. culpable homicide defences. - LegalTrac (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For advanced legal research try
- LinxPlus - journal articlesAn index of journal articles collected by the Law Society.
- Lexis Advance This link opens in a new windowCommentary: use the Big Red Search box to keyword search, then select Secondary Sources Tab. Then filter to commentary from the left-hand menu. Commentary is regularly updated expert interpretation of statutes as analysed in leading cases
Research Aids
- Glossary of legal termsJargon-busting from the Ministry of Justice.
- Laws of New Zealand: topic listThis is a legal encyclopedia published by Lexis, and is a good introduction to any area of New Zealand law.
- Legal referencing using APAThe Law Librarians at AUT have created a guide for non-Law students, for citing the occasional Act or case. For Law students taking Law papers, use the NZLSG.
- Research Strategies for LawThis help page includes a LOT of help. contact the Law Librarian if you need direction.
New Zealand Parliament
- New Zealand ParliamentThis is the Library's guide to the NZ Parliament
- Parliamentary Debates (Hansards)The official records of debates in parliament. Hansards can sometimes provide insight into why particular laws are produced, and what the parliamentarians really think. Data available from mid 2000s.
NZ Court System
- Courts of New ZealandEverything you need to know about how the court system works and how to use it. Site includes links to selected judgments from the higher courts.
Court Hierarchy
Finding and using legal sources can be challenging. If you get stuck, or have questions about legal research, please contact the Law Librarian.