Grey literature: General Sources
Sources of Grey Literature
- Google (general search)Google is probably the most useful general search engine for finding grey literature.
- Google searchingHow to search Google more effectively
- Google Scholar searchingHow to search Scholar more effectively
The following databases include various types of grey literature along with publisher-controlled literature. If you are interested in searching only for grey literature, consider restricting the "publication type" in your search. These types can include: technical report, dissertation, patent, meeting paper, annual report or government publication, among others.
- Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- Embase This link opens in a new window
- PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- PsycEXTRA (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science All Databases This link opens in a new window
- Cochrane Library (EBM Reviews, Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- New Zealand ParliamentThis is the Library's guide to the NZ Parliament
- New Zealand Parliament Hansard Debates - IndexesDaily, weekly, cumulative, annual and session indexes are provided.
- New Zealand resources pageThis is the subject guide that lists key general NZ sources to which the Library provides access, some of which may be useful to find grey literature
- Centre for Reviews and DisseminationSearch several databases for economic evaluations, technology assessments and systematic reviews.
- NTISNational Technical Information Service
- MedNar.comA search engine for online health science sources. Use the Visual filter to categorise results.
- U.S. Government DocumentsIn-depth guide to U.S. Government document resources at the University of Pennsylvania
“System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe, is your open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe and allows you to export records and locate the documents.
“Examples of grey (gray) literature include technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, some conference papers, some official publications, and other types of grey literature.
“OpenGrey covers Science, Technology, Biomedical Science, Economics, Social Science and Humanities.”
Grey Literature Network Service (GreyNet)
“The goal of GreyNet is to facilitate dialog, research, and communication between persons and organisations in the field of grey literature.
“GreyNet further seeks to identify and distribute information on and about grey literature in networked environments.
“Its main activities include the International Conference Series on Grey Literature, the creation and maintenance of web-based resources, a moderated Listserv, a combined Distribution List, The Grey Journal (TGJ), as well as curriculum development in the field of grey literature.”
NZ Ministry of Health Grey Matter newsletter
"Grey Matter is compiled by the MInistry of Health Library and provides access to a selection of the most recent NGO, Think Tank and International Government reports that are relevant in the health context. Information will be arranged by topic, allowing readers to quickly hone in on their key areas of interest. Topics will vary each issue, depending upon key publications that have been made during the last month."
Further resources
Grey Literature in Library and Information Studies by Call Number: ebookISBN: 3598441495Publication Date: 2010
