Information Science: DIGH707
Databases
Some Key Resources:
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
- IET Electronic Library, IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowThe IEEE Xplore digital library is a resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Browse this resource to access IEEE's journals & magazines, standards, and conference proceedings.
- Business Source Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analytica, and Snapshots.
- Web of Science All Databases This link opens in a new windowSearch across Web of Science Core Collection, Current Contents Connect, KCI-Korean Journal Database, Medline, Preprint Citation Index, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index and Zoological Record for comprehensive, multidisciplinary results. 1864+
- Google Scholar (off-campus access only) This link opens in a new window
Other Databases:
- Information/Computer Science DatabasesBrowse the full list of Information and Computer Science databases.
- Health Science DatabasesBrowse the full list of Health Science databases.
- Biotechnology DatabasesBrowse the full list of Biotechnology databases.
- Medicine DatabasesBrowse the full list of Medicine databases.
- A - Z all databasesBrowse the full list of databases available at the University of Otago alphabetically or by subject.
To Find Books ...
Try searching Library Search | Ketu, to find books (including Ebooks) held by the University of Otago Library.
For example:
Artificial intelligence and bioethicsPublication Date: 2020
Health informatics : translating information into innovationPublication Date: 2021
Digital Health by Publication Date: 2022
Digital Health: A Primer by Publication Date: 2024
Grey Literature Examples
Cartoon is copyright to Cartoons by Jim and reproduced with permission from HiNZ
Click on the image above for Public Resources from the HiNZ (Health Informatics New Zealand) website. You can access recent conference proceedings, browse cartoons or sign up to the free eNewsletter
Try these Grey Literature search engines after Google Search: Tips and Tricks:
Check out the Visual tab or Filters!!
Plus our Grey Literature Subject Guide to bookmark. 👀
Organisations & Associations
- Health Informatics New Zealand (HINZ)Founded in 2000, “Health Informatics New Zealand (HiNZ) is a not-for-profit organisation that supports the field of digital health, by delivering events, media, and professional development opportunities. Its annual conference is the largest digital health event in New Zealand” - description from website 10/3/22
- Australasian Institute of Digital Health (AIDH)Launched in February 2020, The Australasian Institute of Digital Health (AIDH) is the result of a merger between “the Health Informatics Society of Australia (HISA) and the Australasian College of Health Informatics (ACHI), Australia’s leading organisations in health informatics and digital health”. description from website 10/3/22.
Assess your findings
Evaluating and thinking critically about sources of information are important skills to develop and apply while undertaking research.
Not all information is reliable and appropriate for academic work, and not all information is relevant to your particular topic.
You should challenge and reflect on information that you find; don’t just accept everything you read.
Assess sources, based on:
OROKOHANGA - ‘The Origins’: The source of the information
MANA - ‘The Authority’ of the information
WHAKAPAPA - ‘The Background’ of the information
MĀRAMATANGA - ‘The Content’ and usability of the
information
ARONGA - ‘The Lens’ or objectivity of the information
Image from Mike Caulfield https://hapgood.us/2019/06/19/sift-the-four-moves/
The SIFT method was created by Mike Caulfield to help with verifying the content of online sources and news.
You can find out more here: https://hapgood.us/2019/06/19/sift-the-four-moves/
Work through this tutorial to develop your skills in evaluating information that you find online:
SIFT - Evaluating Information Tutorial
Use the acronym BADURL to help you evaluate online sources:
B ... Bias
A ... Authority
D ... Date
U ... URL
R ... Relevance
L ... Links
Even when you find information in databases you still need to assess it carefully to make sure that it will be fit for purpose.
Apply these terms to assess if the information you have found answers your research question.
Timeliness
Relevance
Authority
Accuracy
Purpose
Download the TRAAP Test Questions
Work through this tutorial to develop your skills in evaluating information that you find online:
Other Useful Guides
See the box below for some Grey Literature examples.