|
|
Use the wide range of online digital libraries and subscription image databases to find images for your project. Be sure to check reuse terms and conditions, if you consider them for your creative project. |
A nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Includes a collection on the History of Natural Science. Some images are licensed to be used for free in academic publishing.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit archive of scholarly journals. Search captions to limit your results to articles with images.
An eclectic choice of unusual and often unique images. The image library provides high-resolution digitised scans and photographic prints of The National Archives' images for commercial publication, display, broadcast, and product and brand licensing.
Search photographs and many other pictorial media from the Australian National Library's discovery service. An Australian focus, but includes New Zealand and international images.
Over 100,000 images free for use for educational purposes.
Wellcome Images is a major visual collection developed by the Wellcome Trust. It focusses on medical and biomedical science images.
Find digital images from Aotearoa New Zealand using the tools below.
om many gallery websites, see the Galleries tab.
The Hocken collects widely in relation to the history and culture of New Zealand, the Pacific and Antarctica, with a special emphasis on the Otago and Southland regions of New Zealand.
The Photographs Collection is a national collection with a particular responsibility for collecting and preserving the photographic heritage of Otago.
A small sample of the photographs of New Zealand people and places held at Hocken Collections. You can print or download any of these images for personal and research use.
Searchable database of over 250,000 pictures, objects, sounds, movies, and texts from New Zealand’s archives, galleries, libraries and museums.
Database of over 20,000 heritage images from the Alexander Turnbull Library, at the National Library of New Zealand. Access images and information about them, including items of cultural value to Māori people and other New Zealanders.
Over 25,000 cartoons (originals and copies), from the 1860s to the present. The great majority are by New Zealand cartoonists. They cover politics, social issues, economics, sport, culture, history, international issues, etc.
Pictures and photographs from the university's collections. Explore images of pictures and photographs from the Hocken Pictorial Collections and Special Collections. Digital Collections is a window into a selection of the cultural, heritage and historical material within Hocken Collections and the library's Special Collections. Content includes paintings and sketches by prominent New Zealand artists, historical photos and films of the University, and material that has been shown in exhibitions.
Search a small selection of Te Papa's 800,000 rare and beautiful New Zealand images. This database has images of a wide range of objects including Māori carvings, art, ceramics, furniture, photographs, native animals, and weaving – many of which are not on display in the Museum.
News, sport, television and radio shows are available via live streams or on demand.
Nightly news programme features local, national and international stories from a Māori perspective.
|
Gas Meter Dial (Ashley Dace) |
Use the tools below to find digital images that you are free to reuse in your project. |
Lists sites that help you find images that you can re-use under their Creative Commons licenses.
|
The AV Collections are distributed throughout libraries across campus, and all items are listed in the catalogue. They include:
DVDs and BluRays are interfiled with books in the main and reserve collections in the relevant library. VHS tapes for all are available in the the reserve on the first floor of the Central Library.
AV viewing/listening facilities are available in group study rooms in Central, Robertson, Science and Medical libraries. These are indicated by the |
Streaming Video Services
Check these streamed video collections: Film & Popular; and Media & Communications
Cross-search multidisciplinary video collections in 10 broad disciplines
Provides real-time resources through recorded TV programmes, live streams and on demand videos. Includes TV recordings of programmes from over 30 domestic and international television channels,
Link to a range of Library databases
A range of web based archives offer film & educational multimedia content:
New Zealand Film and Television
New Zealand’s moving image and sound archive, incorporating Radio NZ Sound Archives, Television NZ archive, and the NZ Film Archive, covering
cinema, audio recording and television, advertisements, music videos, computer games, and radio productions from Aotearoa, historical to contemporary advertisements, music videos, computer games, and radio productions
The showcase of NZ television, film, music video and web series
The government agency that invests in New Zealand feature films and short films. Check Films on Demand and the Film Library
Aotearoa New Zealand's Broadcasting Commission is a government broadcasting funding agency which invests in a range of local television, radio, music and new media content.
Australian Film Resources
Home of the Australian Film Institute, and the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts
Online home for Australian screen professionals. Provides access to jobs, news, production and events.
icon & are bookable via the Group Study Rooms page -