Sociology: Books
Searching for books
How do I find Sociology books?
Many books for Sociology begin with the call number HM and are shelved on the first floor of the Central Library. Many more books with related and/or specific topics can be found throughout the Library's collections. Find them by searching Library Search | Ketu and/or check out the recommended books below.
- Library Search | Ketu This link opens in a new windowLibrary Search | Ketu provides fast, simple, one-step searching across the University of Otago Library's resources. You can refine your search results to just books.
How do I improve my book searching techniques?
Want to brush up on your book searching skills? Start with the Self Help guide:
If you need a book that is not available here at Otago, you can borrow it from another library via Interloan:
-
All loans from NZ and Australia are FREE.
-
Overseas loans (not available in NZ or Australia) are $25. This can be charged to a department, research grant or paid for personally. We will check with you first before sourcing an overseas item.
- Request an Interloan The Interloan service enables library users to search for items, create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.
- Te Puna Search: New Zealand National Union Catalogue This link opens in a new windowSearch the National Union Catalogue for items held in libraries throughout New Zealand.
- Google Books: Advanced Book Search This link opens in a new window
- OCLC WorldCat A catalogue of books and other materials in libraries worldwide that is updated daily.
Recommended books and eBook databases
The titles below are recommended, but not exclusive. Also try Sage Research Methods Online.
Reference books are great places to start when learning about a new topic or creating a search strategy. The titles below are recommended, but not exclusive.
These databases contain ebooks with Sociology content. Many of these ebooks can also be found searching Library Search | Ketu.
- ProQuest EBook Central This link opens in a new window Offers content across all subject areas from major academic publishers worldwide. Access to non-owned content can be requested online. ebooks can be read online or downloaded for offline access for up to 7 days using Adobe Digital Editions.
- Emerald Social Sciences eBook Series Collection This link opens in a new window A growing collection of volumes with subject coverage that includes: Education; Health and Social Care; and Sociology and Public Policy.
- PsycBOOKS (Ovid) This link opens in a new window A full-text database that provides electronic access to thousands of scholarly and professional titles published by American Psychological Association, including recent titles in psychological and behavioural science, plus a substantial backfile of classic and historic works.
- SAGE Knowledge eBooks This link opens in a new window Includes SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. The database links SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
- Social Theory This link opens in a new window A selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization. The database includes content by such major theorists as Theodor Adorno, Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Émile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Jürgen Habermas, Robert Merton, Dorothy E. Smith , and Talcott Parsons.
- SpringerLink ebooks - Social Sciences This link opens in a new window Full-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works.
You can view a list of new books for Sociology & Gender just added to the University of Otago Library collections.