Skip to Main Content

The Otago LibGuides are changing! The system will undergo a major update from 17 June to 15 July. You can learn more by taking a look at our LibGuides prototype here.

Searching Ovid: Basic Search

Getting Full Text in Basic Search

Finding the full text of articles from within databases is not a reliable process. If these steps do not work, check out our Finding Full Text guide, or contact us for assistance.
  • The safest option for getting to the full text via Ovid is to first go through the results, tick the box next to the references you are interested in, and then click Keep Selected:
    Ovid - Keep Selected

    This makes it less likely for Ovid to lose your selections while you locate the full text.

  • If a reference has the Article Link icon next to it, you will usually be able to get the full text of the document. You will find the Article Link icon on the right hand side of the reference details on the list of results, click on it to access the link to the reference via the library.
    Ovid - Reference article link

    Article Link determines whether you have access to the document via the library’s subscriptions. A new window will open and take you directly to the document’s webpage. To download the document, look for a PDF icon.

    You can click on the ‘X’ or the arrow to close the left side menu, or wait a few seconds for it to close itself:

    Ovid - Reference article close
  • Other references have a Full Text link (in the same position) which should take you directly to the document on the publisher’s website:
    Ovid - Full text link

    Clicking on this link won’t lose any selections you may have made.