LibGuides: Accountancy & Finance: Journals & Article Databases

Article Link

If an article is not available in full-text in a database, click Article Link to automatically search other databases the Library subscribes to.

You may see Article Link represented as:

or Otago Article Link

If the article you need is not online...

Library Search | Ketu
Search the journal title to see if Otago holds the hardcopy of the issue you need.
Interloans
If Otago does not hold the issue in hardcopy, submit an Interloans request for the article. Staff will try to get the article for you from another Library. Article requests are free.

Evaluation Tools

Evaluation tools can help guide you in thinking critically about your information sources. Are the sources you have gathered relevant, appropriate, and authoritative? The evaluation tools can also help you articulate what are sometimes instinctive decisions.

Rauru Whakarare is a kaupapa Māori framework based on five strands woven together with whakapapa at the centre. This framework was developed by Massey University staff and is useful for evaluating all types of information including academic and non-academic sources, online and print material. The five strands are:

Whakapapa (The Background)
Māramatanga (The Content)
Aronga (The Lens)
Orokohanga (The Origins)
Mana (The Authority)

Use the acronym BADURL to assess online sources:

B ... Bias
A ... Authority
D ... Date
U ... URL
R ... Relevance
L ... Links

The CRAPP Test is designed for assessing online information for academic purposes. The tutorial is quick and informative.

Currency

Reliability

Authority

Purpose/Point of view

Another quick tutorial to develop your evaluation skills. The SIFT approach is particularly useful for assessing media sources online.

Stop

Investigate the Source

Find Better Coverage

Trace Claims, Quotes and Media to the Original Context

To find articles...

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business database covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Includes access to: ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry.
Business Source Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals, from 1886.
Informit Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers all broad business fields, including: accounting, career development, commercial law, commodities, corporate governance, e-business, economics, employment, human resources, labour, management, marketing, occupational health, taxation, and unions, from 1993.

Emerald This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 200 full-text, peer-reviewed, commerce journals, from 1899.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources, from 1960.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works. Covers a broad range of subjects in the Social Sciences and Humanities, Health Sciences, Life Sciences, and, Physical Sciences and Engineering.
Full-text articles are also available via CrossRef to other publishers' platforms. Articles are available online before appearing in print and includes multimedia features such as video files, audio files, Excel spreadsheets and Word files.

New Zealand News resources

Australia & New Zealand Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to leading Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Combining content from Fairfax Australia and Fairfax New Zealand, News Limited, the Australian Broadcasting Corporation and APP newswires, ANZ Newsstand provides the very latest local, regional and national news.
Index New Zealand This link opens in a new window
Contains articles published in New Zealand and South Pacific newspapers and journals, from 1987.
Newztext This link opens in a new window
An archive of the full text of many of New Zealand's key news and business publications, from 1993, including the NBR (National Business Review).
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of global and NZ news and business information, from 1980.
- 5 user licence
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 1,000 newspapers from over 80 countries. Newspapers, from the last 2 months, are presented exactly as they are in print format.
- 2 user licence

more links to newspaper resources
Link to the Newspapers section of the Article Databases webpage.

CCH IntelliConnect Law Database

CCH Intelliconnect

Leading publisher of accounting, legal and business resources:

Bankruptcy and Insolvency Law
Business Law
Conveyancing and Property Law
Tax