This is the "Home" page of the "Indigenous Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Indigenous Studies  

Last Updated: Oct 21, 2014 URL: http://otago.libguides.com/indigenous_studies Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

About This Guide

This Subject Guide brings together important research resources for Indigenous Studies. These include article databases & journals, major reference works, and other key sources.

Choose the type(s) of materials you are looking for on the navigation bar above or use the FAQ's below.

For further assistance with finding Indigenous Studies research materials, please contact the Liaison Librarian for Indigenous Studies.

      
     

    Kia Ora. How Can We Help?

    I have an assignment and need to find literature on a topic:

    I want to find literature published in New Zealand:

    How do I reference this resource?:

    I have this reference to an article - how do I find the full text?

    I am searching for a thesis:

    I am searching for a Documentary:

    I need to find primary source material like archives, newspapers and manuscripts:

    I have searched the guide but can't find an answer to my question:

     

    On Facebook? Come And Visit Our Page

    Looking for Academic Literature?

    Nau Mai, Haere Mai / Welcome

    Below are the four best places to start searching for academic literature on your topic.  Explore the tabs along the top for even more options.

    • Library Search | Ketu
      Library Search | Ketu provides fast, simple, one-step searching across the University of Otago Library's resources. It is designed to make it quick and easy to begin researching a topic. It is not a replacement for the detailed and precise search tools available from individual subject specific databases.
    • IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
      The IBSS database includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It focuses on anthropology, economics, politics and sociology with broad coverage of international material from 100 countries and in 60 languages.
    • Informit Indigenous Collection
      This database offers both topical and historical issues within Indigenous studies. It encompasses anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policy making, (post)colonial studies, psychology, race studies, sociology and visual and performing arts.
    • Index New Zealand
      New Zealand database for general interest material, social research, current affairs, and the arts and humanities. Updated daily, INNZ provides citation access to articles published in New Zealand and South Pacific newspapers and journals from 1987 to the present.
     

    Feature Resource: Sage Research Methods

    Getting Started with Your Research

    Do you know which method you want to use to answer your research question?

    Search relevant books, book chapters, dictionary and encyclopedia entries, videos, or journal articles from over 175,000 pages of renowned SAGE content in research methods.

    Not sure which method to use in your research?

    Use the Methods Map to discover new methods or discover relationships between methods, and then link to related content.

     

    Watch this video overview by Sage to learn more about SAGE Research Methods.
     
    Click here to being using this resource

     

    New Māori, Pacific & Indigenous Studies Books

    Loading Loading...
    blank padding

    Liaison Librarian / Kaitiaki Pukapuka

    Profile Image
    Shiobhan Smith
    Logo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
    Contact Info
    shiobhan.smith@otago.ac.nz
    (03) 479 7935

    United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples

    The Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples was adopted by the General Assembly on Thursday 13 September 2007, by a majority of 144 states in favour, 4 votes against (Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the United States) and 11 abstentions (Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burundi, Colombia, Georgia, Kenya, Nigeria, Russian Federation, Samoa and Ukraine).

    Mātaatua Declaration

    The 'First International Conference on the Cultural and Intellectual Property Rights of Indigenous Peoples' was held in Whakatāne from June 12 to 18, 1993. This resulted in the Mātaatua Declaration on Cultural and Intellectual Property Rights of Indigenous Peoples', commonly referred to as the Mātaatua Declaration.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip