Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image by Silvestre Cajigan from Pixabay
Welcome to the Theatre Subject Guide
Explore the tabs above for relevant resources and research advice
Drama Online: National Theatre Collection (Bloomsbury)
This award-winning digital library has been created as a response to the need for a high-quality online research tool for drama and literature students, professors, and teachers. It is the only resource to combine exclusively available playtext content and scholarly publications with filmed live performances, film adaptations, and audio plays.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Research many aspects of performing arts, including theatre, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, & storytelling. Full-text access to more than 130 magazines & journals, and indexes articles from 400 more. Most articles listed are post-1996.
An active archive of stage productions in Aotearoa New Zealand, initiated by Theatre Studies at Otago University. Individual productions, information about scripts, writers, directors, cast, crew, and venues.
Aus Stage: Australia Live Performance Database
An online resource for researching live performance in Australia. AusStage collects and shares information about Australian live performance as an ongoing, open-access, and collaborative endeavour
The JSTOR Understanding Series
Research Shakespeare’s plays using the Folger Shakespeare Library texts to quickly find scholarship written about them. Pick a play. Click a line. Instantly see articles from the JSTOR archive that reference the line. Truly such stuff as Shakespeare students' dreams are made on.
Literature Online (Lion)
Literature Online (LION) is a foundational, focused, and targeted resource for literary programs with full text journals and reference material to help contextualize primary works and authors. LION includes literary figures that have held our attention for a century. The depth of the material, from Beowulf to Pulitzer and Nobel winners, ensures that students and teachers can cover every topic with confidence. LION has a heritage as a leading resource with authoritative, quality publications.
Postgraduate Workshops by Zoom
A - Z of Library Resources
If you need any help with using these resources
please contact your
Subject Librarian Marni Boynton
You can also look at the Ask Library FAQ's or use LibChat to ask library staff for help