LibGuides: Politics: Journals & Databases

Databases that will to help you find articles for Politics

Use keyword searches to find articles on your research topic with these great databases!

The article may be available in PDF or HTML. If the full-text of an article is not included, click on the Article Link button to check availability.

IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
The IBSS database includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It focuses on anthropology, economics, politics and sociology with broad coverage of international material from 100 countries and in 60 languages. Database Guide.
Proquest Social Sciences
Combined search across several Proquest databases relevant to the Social Sciences, including dissertations and theses.
Philosopher's Index (via OvidSP)
Indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Religion & Philosophy Collection
An indexing and abstracting database with some full-text coverage of journals in a range of subjects, including political philosophy.

These databases cover journals from several disciplines, including English Literature.

The article may be available in PDF or HTML. If the full-text of an article is not included, click on the Article Link button to check availability.

Google Scholar (off-campus access only) This link opens in a new window
JURN This link opens in a new window
A curated academic search-engine. Search millions of free academic articles, chapters, and theses.

Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Covers a range of subjects, including Politics.
Academic Search Complete
Full-text of articles from more than 6,000 peer reviewed journals. Also indexes more than 12,000 publications.
Historical Abstracts
Indexes and abstracting for 2,000+ international historical journals, including several key political science titles.
JSTOR
Provides full-text access to back issues (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years) of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences.
Periodicals Index Online: PIO
Multidisciplinary index to over 6,000 journals. An excellent resource for finding primary sources, with complete runs of titles indexed (up to 1995). Database Guide.
Project MUSE
Complete, full-text access to over 400 high quality, peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals, from over 120 publishers, including many university presses and scholarly societies.
ProQuest Central
Full-text of articles from more than 6,000 journals. Also indexes more than 10,000 publications.

These databases specialise in listing articles published in NZ publications. The full-text is not always available, but you can use the information in the citation/reference to track down a copy. Use Library Search | Ketu to see if we hold the journal/newspaper the article was published in, then browse by year, volume, issue, page number to find a copy of the article.

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre
A full text collection including leading regional and international newspapers, magazines, journals, reference books, and biographies. Also includes photos, maps, flags & video.
findNZarticles
Provides access to New Zealand content, including material by or about New Zealanders, from a range of New Zealand newspapers and journals.
Index New Zealand
Indexes the content of NZ and Pacific newspapers, magazines, and academic journals. Useful for finding articles on contemporary NZ and Pacific authors, that may only be available in print. Search Library Search | Ketu for the Source title to find print holdings.
Informit Complete
Search across all of the Informit databases in a single search, including: Families & Society Collection, Humanities & Social Sciences Collection, Indigenous Collection, and the Literature & Culture Collection.
Informit NZ Collection
Access to full text New Zealand content relating to arts, business, education, environment and conservation, family studies, sociology, Indigenous and Maori peoples, law and music.
New Zealand Index
An index of key New Zealand databases including: Index New Zealand, INZART, Woman's Weekly Index, Newspaper Index 1989-2003, Newzindex and the NZ Herald Classified Personals Index.
Newztext
Archive of full-text articles from many key NZ news and business publications. Newztext is both a research tool and a long-term archive and is updated daily. Produced by The Knowledge Basket, with contributions from publishers.

China Academic Journals - Politics/Military Affairs/Law (Series G) - English
A searchable full-text and full-image interdisciplinary Chinese journals database. Series G covers the subject areas of politics, military affairs, and law, and includes academic journal titles. Requires Adobe Acrobat reader (for assistance installing Chinese fonts contact its.servicedesk@otago.ac.nz).

JURN This link opens in a new window
A curated academic search-engine. Search millions of free academic articles, chapters, and theses.

socarxiv
An open archive of the social sciences.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Includes many Open Access books, articles, and conference papers, as well as those available through library databases,
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Search for open journals and/or articles, or browse by subject.
Directory of Open Access Repositories: OpenDOAR This link opens in a new window
Provides open access to research information, available through quality-assured open access repositories.

Browse Politics Journals

Looking for a Specific Article?

If you already have a citation for the article that you are looking for,

e.g. Key, John. "Facing a changing security environment." New Zealand International Review, v.40:1, (Jan/Feb 2015): 2-5.

Then you can use this to find a copy of the article.There are several ways to do this, but the most reliable way is using the journal title.

Search for the "Title of the journal" (within quotation marks). Once you have found a record for the journal, browse by year, volume, issue, page number to find a copy of the article.

Quickly Find a specific article using Library Search | Ketu

If you already have a citation for the article that you are looking for,

e.g. Key, John. "Facing a changing security environment." New Zealand International Review, v.40:1, (Jan/Feb 2015): 2-5.

You can use Library Search | Ketu to find an article from a citation.

Search for the "Title of the article" (within quotation marks).

Quickly Find a Specific Article using Google Scholar

You can use Google Scholar to find an article from a citation:

Try searching Google Scholar for the "Title of the Article" (usually within quotation marks)
Look for Otago Article Link in your results list to access the article through our library databases
NOTE: You may need to adjust your Google Scholar settings to display these links under Library Links find and then select University of Otago - Otago Article Link.

Off-Campus? Access Google Scholar via this link:

Google Scholar: Off-Campus Access

Request a FREE Copy of an article we don't have in our library

If you have checked the library catalogue and found that the article you need is not available here, you can request a free copy through our "Get It" Interloan service.

Interloan service
The Interloan service enables library users to search for items, create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.

Politics: Journals & Databases